BEFORE THE FLORIDA PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION

In re: Cancellation by Florida DOCKET NO. 970948-TI

Public Service Commission of ORDER NO. PSC-97-1104-FOF-TI
Interexchange Telecommunications ISSUED: September 23, 1997
Certificate No. 3968 issued to
Digital Dial Communications,
Inc., for violation of Rule 25-
4.0161, F.A.C., Regulatory
Assessment Fees.

The following Commissioners participated in the disposition of
this matter:

JULIA L. JOHNSON, Chairman
J. TERRY DEASON
SUSAN F. CLARK

DIANE K. KIESLING
JOE GARCIA

NOTICE OF PROPOSED AGENCY ACTION
ORDER _IMPOSING FINE AND REQUIRING PAYMENT OF
REGULATORY ASSESSMENT FEES OR CANCELING
INTEREXCHANGE TELECOMMUNICATIONS CERTIFICATE
AND DIRECTING CERTIFICATED INTEREXCHANGE
TELECOMMUNICATIONS PROVIDERS
TO DISCONTINUE SERVICE

BY THE COMMISSION:

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN by the Florida Public Service
Commission that the action discussed herein is preliminary in
nature and will become final unless a person whose interests are
substantially affected files a petition for a formal proceeding,
pursuant to Rule 25-22.029, Florida Administrative Code.

Digital Dial Communications, Inc., (Digital), an interexchange
telecommunications carrier (IXC), currently holds certificate of
public convenience and necessity number 3968, issued by the
Commission on January 18, 1995, authorizing the provision of
interexchange telecommunications service. Digital has not paid the
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regulatory assessment fees required by Section 364.336, Florida
Statutes, and Rule 25-4.0161, Florida Administrative Code, for the
years 1995 and 1996. The regulatory assessment fee form was mailed
to Digital in June, 1995, for the period of January 1, 1995,
through December 31, 1995 and in December, 1995 for the period of
January 1, 1996, through December 31, 1996. Pursuant to Rule 25-
4.0161(2), Florida Administrative Code, the form and applicable
fees are due to the Florida Public Service Commission by January 30
of the subsequent year. Digital was notified of its delinguency on
June 3, 1997. The company has been given adequate opportunity to
pay. The Commiscion’s correspondence regarding the regulatory
assessment fees was signed for, indicating receipt. Yet, there has
been no response, and, to date, Digital has not paid the required
fees.

For the reason described above, pursuant to Rule 25-
24.474(1) (b) and (c), Florida Administrative Code, we find it
appropriate to cancel Digital's certificate, unless the company
pays a $500 fine for failure to comply with Section 364.336,
Florida Statutes, and Rule 25-4.0161, Florida Administrative Code,
and remits all past due regulatory assessment fees, along with
statutory penalties and interest charges, to the Florida Public
Service Commission. Digital must comply with these requirements
within 5 business days from the date this Order becomes final. The
fine will be remitted to the Comptroller for deposit in the State
of Florida General Revenue Fund, pursuant to Section 364.516,
Florida Statutes.

When the appropriate fees, statutory penalties, interest
charges, and fine are received, this docket shall be closed.
Should Digital fail to comply with this Order within 5 business
days from the date this Order becomes final, Digital shall have its
certificate canceled and the docket will be closed. The
cancellation of the certificate and the closing of the docket in no
way diminishes Digital's obligation to pay applicable delinquent
regulatory assessment fees, statutory penalties, and interest
charges.

Should Digital’s certificate be canceled, all certificated
interexchange carriers in the State of Florida are instructed to
discontinue service tc Digital, pursuant to Rule 25-24.4701(3),
Florida Administrative Code, Provision of Regulated
Telecommunications Service to Uncertificated Resellers Prohibited.
Any certificated interexchange carriers providing service to
Digital must contact the Commission at the conclusion of the
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response period indicated herein in order to determine if Digital'’'s
certificate has been canceled.

Based on the foregoing, it is

ORDERED by the Florida Public Service Commission that Digital
Dial Communications, Inc., must pay the past due regulatory
assessment fees, statutory penalties, interest charges, and a $500
fine to the Florida Public Service Commission for failure to comply
with Section 364.336, Florida Statutes, and Rule 25-4.0161, Florida
Administrative Code, within 5 business days from the date this
Order becomes final. The fine will be transmitted to the
Comptroller for deposit in the State of Florida General Revenue
Fund. It is further

ORDERED that should Digital Dial Communications, Inc., fail
to comply with this Order, Digital Dial Communications, Inc.’'s
certificate shall be canceled, and the docket shall be closed. TE

is further

ORDERED that the cancellation of the certificate and the
closing of the docket in no way diminishes Digital Dial
Communications, Inc.'s obligation to pay applicable delinguent
regulatory assessment fees, statutory penalties, and interest
charges. It is further

ORDERED that all certificated interexchange telecommunications
providers shall discontinue service to Digital Dial Communications,
Inc., upon verification of the cancellation of the certificate at
the conclusion of the response period set forth in this Order. It
is further

ORDERED that the provisions of this Order, issued as proposed
agency action, shall become final and effective unless an
appropriate petition, in the form provided by Rule 25-22.036,
Florida Administrative Code, is received by the Director, Division
of Records and Reporting, 2540 Shumard Oak Boulevard, Tallahassee,
Florida 32399-0850, by the close of business on the date set forth
in the "Notice of Further Proceedings or Judicial Review" attached
hereto. It is further

ORDERED that in the event this Order becomes final, this
Docket shall be closed upon payment of the fines, and fees, or upon
cancellation of the certificate.
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By ORDER of the Florida Public Service Commission, this 23rd
day of September, 1997.

BLANCA S. BAY0O, Director
Division of Records and Reporting

By: ﬁ:aLLd~;L£*914—“J
Kay Flygn, Chilf
Bureau of Records

{S. E A L )

JRB
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NOTICE OF FURTHER PROCEEDINGS OR JUDICIAL REVIEW

The Florida Public Service Commission is required by Section
120.569(1), Florida Statutes, to notify parties of any
administrative hearing or judicial review of Commission orders that
is available under Sections 120.57 or 120.68, Florida Statutes, as
well as the procedures and time limits that apply. This notice
should not be construed to mean all reqguests for an administrative
hearing or judicial review will be granted or result in the relief
sought.

Mediaticn may be available on a case-by-case basis. If
mediation is conducted, it does not affect a substantially
interested person’s right to a hearing.

The action proposed herein is preliminary in nature and will
not become effective or final, except as provided by Rule 25-
22.029, Florida Administrative Code. Any person whose substantial
interests are affected by the action proposed by this order may
file a petition for a formal proceeding, as provided by Rule 25-
22.029(4), Florida Administrative Code, in the form prcsided by
Rule 25-22.036(7) (a) and (f), Florida Administrative Code. This
petition must be received by the Director, Division of Records and
Reporting, 2540 Shumard Oak Boulevard, Tallahassee, Florida 32399-
0850, by the close of business on QOctober 14, 1997.

In the absence of such a petition, this order shall become
effective on the day subseguent to the above date as provided by
Rule 25-22.029(6), Florida Administrative Code.

Any objection or protest filed in this docket before the
issuance date of this order is considered abandoned unless it
satisfies the foregoing conditions and is renewed within the
specified protest period.

If this order becomes final and effective on the date
described above, any party substantially affected may request
judicial review by the Florida Supreme Court in the case of an
electric, gas or telephone utility or by the First District Court
of Appeal in the case of a water or wastewater utility by filing a
notice of appeal with the Director, Division of Records and
Reporting and filing a copy of the notice of appeal and the filing
fee with the appropriate court. This filing must be completed
within thirty (30) days of the effective date of this order,
pursuant to Rule 9.110, Florida Rules of Appellate Procedure. The
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notice of appeal must be in the form specified in Rule 9.900(a),
Florida Rules of Appellate Procedure.
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