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BEFORE THE FLORIDA PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION

In re: Application for transfer DOCKET NO. 970381-SU

of Certificate No. 495-S5 from ORDER NO. PSC-97-1150-FOF-SU
Sandalhaven Utility, Inc. to CHP ISSUED: September 30, 1997
Utility, Inc. in Charlotte
County, cancellation of
Certificate No. 495-S, and
exemption from Florida Public
Service Commission regulation.

The following Commissioners participated in the disposition of
this matter:

JULIA L. JOHNSON, Chairman
J. TERRY DEASON
SUSAN F. CLARK

DIANE K. KIESLING
JOE GARCIA

ORDER DECLINING TQO INITIATE SHOW CAUSE PROCEEDINGS,
APPROVING TRANSFER, CANCELING CERTIFICATE
AND CLOSING DOCKET

BY THE COMMISSION:
BACKGROUND

Sandalhaven Utility, Inc. (Sandalhaven or Utility) is a Class
C utility which provides wastewater service to 623 residential,
general service, and multi-family customers in Charlotte County.
According to the 1996 annual report, the utility had annual
operating revenues of $161,918 and experienced an operating loss of
$41,249.

On March 26, 1997, the Commission received an application from
CHP Utility, Inc. (CHP), a non-profit corporation, requesting
transfer of Sandalhaven’s assets and customer service area, and
seeking exempt status from the Commission for provision of
wastewater service as an exempt non-profit association. Although
the actual closing took place December 30, 1996, the purchase and
sale agreement contained a condition which demanded complete
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approval by the Florida Public Service Commission for final
closure.

CHP is a non-profit corporation formed on April 10, 1996. The
utility has filed with the Office of the Secretary of State as a
non-profit entity and has fulfilled all of the criteria to be
considered an exempt entity pursuant to Section 367.022(7), Florida
Statutes. The CHP membership is comprised of utility customers
receiving service from the utility and all members hold one vote as
stated in the Articles of Incorporation. Only members of the non-
profit corporation receive wastewater service.

Show Cause

Section 367.071(1), Florida Statutes, requires that no utility
may transfer its facilities without determination and approval of
the Commission that the buyer will fulfill the commitments,
obligations, and representations of the utility. Section
367.161(1), Florida Statutes, authorizes the Commission to assess
a penalty of not more than $5,000 for each offense, if a utility 1is
found to have knowingly refused to comply with, or to have
willfully violated, any provision of Chapter 367, Florida Statutes.
As stated previously, the transfer from Sandalhaven to CHP occurred
on December 30, 1996 without prior approval of the Commission. The
application for approval of the transfer was not filed until March
26, 1997. This is an apparent violation of Section 367.071,
Florida Statutes.

Utilities are charged with the knowledge of the Commission's

rules and statutes. Additionally, "[i]Jt 1is a common maxim,
familiar to all minds that 'ignorance of the law' will not excuse
any person, either civilly or criminally." Barlow v. United

States, 32 U.S. 404, 411 (1833). Thus, any intentional act, such
as the utility's failure to obtain Commission approval prior to
transferring its assets and facilities to another entity, would
meet the standard for a "willful violation." 1In Order No. 24306,
issued April 1, 1991, in Docket No. 890216-TL titled In_Re:
Investigation Into The Proper Application of Rule 25-14.003,
F.A.C., Relating To Tax Savings Refund for 1988 and 1989 For GTE
Florida, Inc., the Commission, having found that the company had
not intended to violate the rule, nevertheless found it appropriate
to order it to show cause why it should not be fined, stating that
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"1willful' implies an intent to do an act, and this 1is distinct
from an intent to violate a statute or rule." Id. at 6.

There are, however, circumstances which appear to mitigate the
utility’s apparent violation of Section 367.071, Florida Statutes.
Through conversations with Commission staff, the utility stated
that the need for the sales transaction to occur in December 1996
was driven by tax considerations. By executing the agreement prior
to January 1997, the utility avoided substantial ad valorem
taxation assessments for the current year. The utility required
additional time in order to prepare the information and
documentation needed to file the transfer application. Regardless
of when the sale of the assets actually occurred or when CHP
commenced running the utility, the purchase and sale agreement
provided that the closing was contingent upon PSC approval of the
transfer. So, even though the sale was closed prior to PSC
approval, it is still dependent upon receiving such approval.
Furthermore, the transfer resulted in the utility being placed
under the control of the customers.

Although regulated utilities are charged with knowledge of
Chapter 367, Florida Statutes, we do not believe that the apparent
violation of Section 367.071, Florida Statutes, rises in these
circumstances to the level of warranting initiation of show cause
proceedings. Therefore, Sandalhaven shall not be required to show
cause for failing to obtain approval from the Commission prior to
the transfer of the utility to CHP.

Transfer Application

The transfer application is in compliance with the governing
statute, Section 367.071, Florida Statutes, and other pertinent
statutes and administrative rules concerning an application for
transfer of utility assets. The application contains a check for
wastewater service totaling $1,500.00, which is the correct filing
fee pursuant to Rule 25-30.020, Florida Administrative Code.

The filing by CHP requests that the transfer include the
wastewater collection lines and wastewater treatment system.
According to the contract for sale, the purchase price for both
systems is $733,000. CHP will fund the purchase through from
operating capital. The non-profit association has also indicated
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this transaction will not jeopardize its financial standing. The
non-profit corporation was created as an entity to operate the
utility and is registered with the Office of the Secretary of
State. CHP will not be held liable for any prior taxes assessed to
Sandalhaven.

Sandalhaven has been in operation since 1983. The utility has
consistently met DEP standards and provided customers with gquality
service. Sandalhaven has no outstanding violations. Sandalhaven
is current with Commission requirements of annual reports and
regulatory assessment fees through 1996. Sandalhaven shall be
responsible for submitting a 1997 annual report and 1997 regulatory
assessment fees through the date of transfer as recognized by
Commission Order.

According to the application, CHP will continue to utilize the
professional services of licensed operators, who have managed the
day to day operations of the system since 1983. The buyer 1is
committed and willing to make any necessary repairs to the system.
Because the operations of the system will be relatively unchanged,
the customers should experience consistent service provided within
DEP standards. We have determined that these considerations
demonstrate a financial and technical ability to provide quality
utility service and that CHP 1is capable of fulfilling the
commitments, obligations and representations of the utilities.
Therefore, we find that the transfer of Sandalhaven Utility, Inc.
to CHP Utility, Inc. is in the public interest and shall be
approved. Because it appears that CHP would satisfy the
requirements for exemption pursuant to Section 367.022(7), Florida
Statutes, Wastewater Certificate No. 495-S is hereby canceled.

Based on the foregoing, it is

ORDERED by the Florida Public Service Commission that
Sandalhaven Utility, Inc. shall not be required to show cause for
failing to obtain prior Commission approval of the transfer. It is
further

ORDERED that the transfer of Sandalhaven Utility, Inc., 6800
Placida Road, Englewood, Florida 34224, to CHP Utility, Inc., 6800
Placida Road, Englewood, Florida 34224, is hereby approved. It is
further
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ORDERED that Sandalhaven Utility, Inc. shall be responsible
for submitting a 1997 annual report and 1997 regulatory assessment
fees through the date of transfer as recognized by this Order. It
is further

ORDERED that Wastewater Certificate No. 495-S 1is hereby
canceled. It is further

ORDERED that this docket is hereby closed.

By ORDER of the Florida Public Service Commission this 30th
day of September, 1997.

.‘f\
BLANCA S. BAYO, Direc
Division of Records a Reporting

(SEAL)

JSB
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NOTICE OF FURTHER PROCEEDINGS OR JUDICIAL REVIEW

The Florida Public Service Commission is required by Section
120.569(1), Florida Statutes, to notify parties of any
administrative hearing or judicial review of Commission orders that
is available under Sections 120.57 or 120.68, Florida Statutes, as
well as the procedures and time limits that apply. This notice
should not be construed to mean all requests for an administrative
hearing or judicial review will be granted or result in the relief
sought.

Any party adversely affected by the Commission’s final action
in this matter may request: 1) reconsideration of the decision by
filing a motion for reconsideration with the Director, Division of
Records and Reporting, 2540 Shumard Oak Boulevard, Tallahassee,
Florida 32399-0850, within fifteen (15) days of the issuance of
this order in the form prescribed by Rule 25-22.060, Florida
Administrative Code; or 2) judicial review by the Florida Supreme
Court in the case of an electric, gas or telephone utility or the
First District Court of Appeal in the case of a water and/or
wastewater utility by filing a notice of appeal with the Director,
Division of Records and reporting and filing a copy of the notice
of appeal and the filing fee with the appropriate court. This
filing must be completed within thirty (30) days after the issuance
of this order, pursuant to Rule 9.110, Florida Rules of Appellate
Procedure. The notice of appeal must be in the form specified in
Rule 9.900(a), Florida Rules of Appellate Procedure.
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