BEFORE THE FLORIDA PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION

In re: Cancellation by Florida DOCKET NO. 971279-TC
Public Service Commission of Pay ORDER NO. PS5SC-97-1454-FOF-TC
Telephone Certificate No. 3905 ISSUED: November 18, 1997

issued to Mark D. Ridley, for
vicolation of Rule 25-4.0161,
F.A.C., Regulatory Assessment
Fees.

The following Commissioners participated in the disposition of
this matter:

JULIA L. JOHNSON, Chairman
J. TERRY DEASCN
SUSAN F. CLARK

DIANE K. KIESLING
JOE GARCIA

NOTICE OF PROPCSED AGENCY ACTION
ORDER TIMPOSING FINE_AND REQUIRING PAYMENT OF
REGULATORY ASSESSMENT FEES OR CANCELING
PAY TELEPHONE CERTIFICATE AND DIRECTING CERTIFICATED LOCAL
EXCHANGE COMPANTES TO DISCONTINUE SERVICE

BY THE COMMISSION:

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN by the Florida Public Service
Commission that the action discussed herein is preliminary in
nature and will become final unless a person whose interests are
substantially affected files a petition for a formal proceeding,
pursuant to Rule 25-22.029, Florida Administrative Code.

Mark D. Ridley (Mr. Ridley) currently holds Certificate of
Public Convenience and Necessity Number 3905, issued by the
Commission on December 18, 1994, authorizing the provision of pay
telephone service. Mr. Ridley has not paid the regulatory
assessment fees required by Section 364.336, Florida Statutes, and
Rule 25-4.0161, Florida Administrative Code, for the year 1996.
The regulatory assessment fee form was mailed to Mr. Ridley in
December, 1996, for the period of January 1, 1996, through December
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31, 19%6. Pursuant to Rule 25-4.0161(2), Florida Administrative
Code, the form and applicable fees are due to the Florida Public
Service Commission by January 30 of the subsequent year. Mr. Ridley
was notified of his delinquency on June 3, 1997. Mr. Ridley has

been given adequate opportunity to pay. The Commission’s
correspondence regarding the regulatory assessment fees was
returned, marked “unclaimed.” To date, Mr. Ridley has not paid

the required fees.

For the reason described above, pursuant to Rule 25-
24.514 (1) (b) and (c), Florida Administrative Code, we find it
appropriate to cancel Mr. Ridley's certificate, unless Mr. Ridley
pays a $500 fine for failure to comply with Section 364.336,
Florida Statutes, and Rule 25-4,0161, Florida Administrative Code,
and remits all past due regqulatory assessment fees, along with
statutory penalties and interest charges, to the Florida Public
Service Commission. Mr. Ridley must comply with these requirements
within five business days from the date this QOrder becomes final.
The fine will be remitted to the Comptroller for deposit in the
State of Florida General Revenue Fund, pursuant to Section 364.516,
Florida Statutes.

When the appropriate fees, statutory penalties, interest
charges, and fine are received, this docket shall be closed.
Should Mr. Ridley fail to comply with this Order within five
business days from the date this Order becomes final, Mr. Ridley
shall have its certificate canceled and the docket will be closed.
The cancellation of the certificate and the closing of the docket
in no way diminishes Mr. Ridley's obligation to pay applicable
delinquent regulatory assessment fees, statutory penalties, and
interest charges.

Should Mr. Ridley’s certificate be canceled, all certificated
local exchange companies are instructed to discontinue service to
Mr. Ridley, pursuant to Rule 25-24.510, Florida Administrative
Code, Certificate of Public Convenience and Necessity Required.
Any certificated local exchange company providing service to Mr.
Ridley must contact the Commission at the conclusion of the
response period indicated herein in order to determine if Mr.
Ridley’s certificate has been canceled.

Based on the foregoing, it is

ORDERED by the Florida Public Service Commission that Mark D.
Ridley must pay the past due regulatory assessment fees, statutory
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penalties, interest charges, and a $500 fine to the Florida Public
Service Commission for failure to comply with Section 364.336,
Florida Statutes, and Rule 25-4.0161, Florida Administrative Code,
within five business days from the date this Order becomes final.
The fine will be transmitted to the Comptroller for deposit in the
State of Florida General Revenue Fund. It is further

ORDERED that should Mark D. Ridley fail to comply with this
Order, Mark D. Ridley’s certificate shall be canceled, and the
docket shall be closed. It is further

ORDERED that the cancellation of the certificate and the
closing of the docket in no way diminishes Mark D. Ridley's
obligation to pay applicable delinquent regulatory assessment fees,
statutory penalties, and interest charges. It is further

ORDERED that all certificated local exchange companies shall
discontinue service to Mark D. Ridley upon verification of the
cancellation of the certificate at the conclusion of the response
period set forth in this Order. It is further

ORDERED that the provisions of this Order, issued as propcsed
agency action, shall become final and effective unless an
appropriate petition, in the form provided by Rule 25-22.036,
Florida Administrative Code, is received by the Director, Division
of Records and Reporting, 2540 Shumard Oak Boulevard, Tallahassee,
Florida 32399-0850, by the close of business on the date set forth
in the "Notice of Further Proceedings or Judicial Review”" attached
hereto. It 1s further

ORDERED that in the event this Order becomes final, this
Docket shall be closed upon payment of the fines, and fees, or upon
cancellation of the certificate.
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By ORDER of the Flcorida Public Service Commission this 18th
day of November, 1997.

BLANCA S. BAYO, Direafo)
Division of Records and Reporting

{ S EAL)

KMP

NOTICE OF FURTHER PROCEEDINGS OR JUDTCTAT REVIEW

The Florida Public Service Commission is required by Section
120.56%(1), Florida Statutes, to notify parties of any
administrative hearing or judicial review of Commission orders that
is avallable under Sections 120.57 or 120.68, Florida Statutes, as
well as the procedures and time limits that apply. This notice
should not be construed to mean all requests for an administrative
hearing or judicial review will be granted or result in the relief
sought.

Mediation may be available on a case-by-case basis. If
mediation 1s conducted, it does not affect a substantially
interested person’s right to a hearing.

The action proposed herein is preliminary in nature and will
not become effective or final, except as provided by Rule 25~
22.029, Florida Administrative Code. Any person whose substantial
interests are affected by the action proposed by this order may
file a petition for a formal proceeding, as provided by Rule 25-
22.029(4), Fleorida Administrative Code, in the form provided by
Rule 25-22.036(7)(a) and (f), Florida Administrative Code. This
petition must be received by the Director, Division of Records and
Reporting, 2540 Shumard Oak Boulevard, Tallahassee, Florida 32399-
0850, by the close of business on December 9, 1897.
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In the absence of such a petition, this order shall become
effective on the day subsequent to the above date as provided by
Rule 25-22.029(6), Florida Administrative Ccde.

Any objection or protest filed in this docket before the
issuance date of this order is considered abandoned unless it
satisfies the foregoing conditions and is renewed within the
specified protest pericd.

If this order becomes final and effective on the date
described above, any party substantially affected may regquest
judicial review by the Florida Supreme Court in the case of an
electric, gas or telephone utility or by the First District Court
of Appeal in the case of a water or wastewater utility by filing a
notice of appeal with the Director, Division of Records and
Reporting and filing a copy of the notice of appeal and the filing
fee with the appropriate court. This filing must be completed
within thirty (30) days o©f the effective date of this order,
pursuant to Rule 9.110, Florida Rules of Appellate Procedure. The
notice of appeal must be in the form specified in Rule 9.900({a),
Florida Rules of Appellate Procedure.




