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ORDER APPROVING SETTLEMENT 

BY THE COMMISSION: 

Pursuant to Section 364.336, Florida Statutes, pay telephone companies must pay a 
minimum annual Regulatory Assessment Fee of $50 if the certificate was active during any 
portion of the calendar year. Pursuant to Rule 25-4.0161(2), Florida Administrative Code, the 
form and applicable fees are due to the Florida Public Service Commission (this Commission) by 
January 30 of the subsequent year. Pursuant to Section 350.113(4), Florida Statutes, the 
Regulatory Assessment Fee return forms, for the period of January 1 through December 3 1 , are 
mailed to entities at least 45 days prior to the date that payment of the fee is due. All entities that 
apply for certification receive a copy of our rules goveming pay telephone service. 

Conversant Technologies, Inc. currently holds Certificate No. 8020, issued by this 
Commission on February 4, 2002, authorizing the provision of Pay Telephone service. The 
Division of the Commission Clerk and Administrative Services advised our staff that Conversant 
Technologies, Inc. had not paid the Regulatory Assessment Fee required by Section 364.336, 
Florida Statutes, and Rule 25-4.0161, Florida Administrative Code, for the year 2004, which was 
due by January 31, 2005. Also, accrued statutory late payment charges required by Section 
350.1 13(4), Florida Statutes, for the year 2004 had not been paid. 

On December 19, 2005, Order No. PSC-05-1237-PAA-TC was issued, which penalized 
the company $500 or cancelled its payphone certificate. The company had until January 9,2006, 
to respond to the Order. On December 29, 2005, the company responded to the Proposed 
Agency Action Order by paying the 2004 fee, along with statutory late payment charges, and a 
$100 settlement to resolve this docket. This amount is consistent with amounts this Commission 
has accepted for recent, similar violations. While the company proposed to pay future RAFs on 
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a timely basis, we add that Rule 25-4.0161, F.A.C., as amended, will automatically impose a 
penalty for late payment of future RAFs. 

We believe that the terms of the settlement agreement represent a fair and reasonable 
resolution of this docket. Accordingly, we hereby accept the settlement offer. The cost of 
collection will be subtracted from the amount received and will be deposited in the Florida 
Public Service Regulatory Trust Fund, to offset the cost of collection incurred by this 
Commission. We are vested with jurisdiction over this matter pursuant to Sections 350.113, 
364.336, 364.3375, and 364.285, Florida Statutes. 

Based on the foregoing, it is 

ORDERED by the Florida Public Service Commission that Conversant Technologies, 
Inc. 's $100 contribution was paid as terms of the proposed settlement. It is further 

ORDERED that this Commission shall subtract the cost of collection from the amount 
received and deposit it in the Florida Public Service Regulatory Trust Fund, to offset the cost of 
collection incurred by this Commission. It is further 

ORDERED that this docket is hereby closed. 

By ORDER of the Florida Public Service Commission this 5th day of June, 2006. 

BLANCA S. BAYO, Director 
Division of the Commission Clerk 
and Administrative Services 

By: 

Case- Management Review Section 

( S E A L )  

KS 
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NOTICE OF FURTHER PROCEEDINGS OR JUDICIAL REVIEW 

The Florida Public Service Commission is required by Section 120.569(1), Florida 
Statutes, to notify parties of any administrative hearing or judicial review of Commission orders 
that is available under Sections 120.57 or 120.68, Florida Statutes, as well as the procedures and 
time limits that apply. This notice should not be construed to mean all requests for an 
administrative hearing or judicial review will be granted or result in the relief sought. 

Any party adversely affected by the Commission's final action in this matter may request: 
1) reconsideration of the decision by filing a motion for reconsideration with the Director, 
Division of the Commission Clerk and Administrative Services, 2540 Shumard Oak Boulevard, 
Tallahassee, Florida 32399-0850, within fifteen (15) days of the issuance of this order in the 
form prescribed by Rule 25-22.060, Florida Administrative Code; or 2) judicial review by the 
Florida Supreme Court in the case of an electric, gas or telephone utility or the First District 
Court of Appeal in the case of a water and/or wastewater utility by filing a notice of appeal with 
the Director, Division of the Commission Clerk and Administrative Services and filing a copy of 
the notice of appeal and the filing fee with the appropriate court. This filing must be completed 
within thirty (30) days after the issuance of t h s  order, pursuant to Rule 9.1 10, Florida Rules of 
Appellate Procedure. The notice of appeal must be in the form specified in Rule 9.900(a), 
Florida Rules of Appellate Procedure. 


