
BEFORE THE FLORIDA PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION 

In re: Initiation of show cause 
proceedings against SUNSHINE SHELL 
for violation of Rule 25-24.520, 
Annual Report Requirement. 

DOCKET NO. 910357-TC 
ORDER NO. 25144 
ISSUED : 9/30/91 

The following Commissioners participated in the disposition of 
this matter: 

BY THE COMMISSION: 

THOMAS M. BEARD, Chairman 
SUSAN F. CLARK 
J. TERRY DEASON 

BETTY EASLEY 

FINAL ORPER RESOLVING 
SHOW CAUSE PROCEEDINGS 

Sunshine Shell (Sunshine or the Company) has been a 
certificated pay telephone service (PATS) provider since December 
24, 1987. As a certificated PATS provider, sunshine is subject to 
our jurisdiction. 

On May 13, 1991, we issued Order No. 24515 requiring Sunshine 
to show cause why it should not be fined $250 for fail ure to file 
an Annual Report for 1991 as required by Rule 25-24.520, Florida 
Administrative Code. Order No. 24515 also provided that if 
Sunshine elected to cancel its PATS certificate, no fine would be 
imposed. Finally, Order No. 24515 provided that if Sunshine failed 
to file a timely response, its certificate would be canceled and 
this docket closed. 

On May 28, 1991, Sunshine filed a response to Order No. 24515. 
In its response, Sunshine indicated that it had filed the Annual 
Report along with its Regulatory Assessment Fee on December 17, 
1990. As evidence of this assertion, Sunshine produced a copy of 
a money order made out to this Commission in the amount of $~5 . 

Sunshine's response is insufficient to justify setting aside 
the proposed $250 fine. We have often ruled that the Annual Report 
Requirement and the Regulatory Assessment Fee Requirement are 
separate and distinct requirements. The evidence proffered by 
Sunshine might be adequate to prove compliance with the Regulatory 
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Assessment Fee Requirement but does nothing to prove compliance 
with the Annual Report Requirement. 

Sunshine's response fails to set forth specific legal or 
factual arguments sufficient to set aside the fine. Essentially, 
Sunshine's response is a default and a waiver of the right to a 
hearing. 

Based on the foregoing, it is, therefore, 

ORDERED by the Florida Public Service Commission that Sunshine 
Shell shall, within 30 days, pay the $250 fine proposed in Order 
No. 24515 or, in the alternative, voluntarily cancel its 
Certificate of Public Convenience and Necessity No. 1788. It is 
further 

~ ~t if Bunahine Shell elects to voluntarily cancel 
its 1 oata, t:be $250 fine shall not be imposed, but the 
Company shall still be liable for the 1991 Regulatory Assessment 
Fee. It is further 

ORDERED that if sunshine Shell fails to respond to this Order, 
its Certificate of Public Convenience and Necessity No. 1788 shall 
be canceled and this docket closed. 

By ORDER of the Florida Public Service Commission, this 30th 
day of SEPTEMPER 1 991 

ST irector 
ords and Reporting 

( SEAL) 

JKA 
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NOTICE OF FQRTHER PROCEEDINGS OR JUDICIAL REVIEW 

The Florida Public Service Commission is required by Section 
120.59(4), Florida Statutes, to notify parties of any 
administrative hearing or judicial review of Commission orders that 
is available under Sections 120.57 or 120.68, Florida Statutes, as 
well as the procedures and time limits that apply. This notice 
should not be construed to mean all requests for an administrative 
hearing or judicial review will be granted or result in the relief 
sought. 

Any party adversely affected by the Commission's final action 
in this matter may request: 1) reconsideration of the decision by 
filing a motion for reconsideration with the Director, Division of 
Records and Reporting within fifteen (15) days of the issuance of 
this order in the form prescribed by Rule 25-22.060, Florida 
Administrative Code; or 2) judicial review by the Florida Supreme 
Court in the case of an electric, gas or telephone utility or the 
First District Court of Appeal in the case of a water or sewer 
utility by filing a notice of appeal with the Director, Division of 
Records and Reporting and filing a copy of the notice of appeal and 
the filing fee with the appropriate court. This filing must be 
completed within thirty (30) days after the issuance of this order, 
pursuant to Rule 9.110, Florida Rules of Appellate Procedure. The 
notice of appeal must be in the form specified in Rule 9.900 (a), 
Florida Rules of Appellate Procedure . 
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September 27, 1991 

~ 
TO : DIVISION OF RECORDS AND REPORTING If 
FROM DIVISION OF LEGAL SERVICES (ADAMS)~1 
RE : DOCKET NO. 910357-TC 

-----~-------------------------------------------~-~~~-sc ____ _ 
Attached is a FINAL ORDER RESOLVING SHOW CAUSE PROCEEDINGS in 

the above-referenced docket, which is ready to be issued. 

JKAjttl 
Attaclment 
cc: Division of Communications 
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