BEFORE THE FLORIDA PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION

In Re: Application for approval ) DOCKET NO. 941263-SU

of a flat rate for wastewater ) ORDER NO. PSC-95-0359-FOF-SU
service in Pinellas County by ) ISSUED: March 14, 1995
MID-COUNTY SERVICES, INC. )

)

The following Commissioners participated in the disposition of
this matter:

SUSAN F. CLARK, Chairman
J. TERRY DEASON
JOE GARCIA
JULIA L. JOHNSON
DIANE K. KIESLING
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BY THE COMMISSION:
BACKGROUND

Mid-County Services, Inc. (Mid-County or utility), a wholly
owned subsidiary of Utilities, Inc., is a Class B utility, located
in Pinellas County, Florida. Mid-County provides wastewater
service to customers located in Dunedin, Florida. The utility is
located in a region which has been designated by the South Florida
Water Management District (SFWMD) as a critical use area. As of
December 31, 1993, the utility served approximately 1,244
residential customers and 185 general service customers.

We last established rates for this utility in a rate case in
Docket No. 921293-5U, by Order No. PSC-93-1713-FOF-LU, issued
November 30, 1993. We proposed a $761,574 wastewater revenue
requirement for Mid-County, which represented an annual increase in
revenue of $262,803 or 52.69 percent.

On December 20, 1993, Suntech Homes, Inc. (a developer) timely
filed a petition on proposed agency action, wherein it requested a
Section 120.57, Florida Statutes, hearing. The developer's protest
was limited to the service availability charge which was later
resolved by Order No. 94-1042-FOF-SU, issued August 24, 1994. The
final rates were approved in Order No. PSC-93-1713-FOF-SU.

On November 16, 1994, Mid-County filed tariff sheets and a
request for approval of flat rate wastewater service to three
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customers (one mobile home park and two single fhmily residences)
with rates consistent with those established for its metered use
customers in Order No. PSC-94-1042-FOF-SU.

Oon December 23, 1994, the utility waived the 60-day period for
Commission action until February 1, 1995, and again on January 18,
1995, until February 21, 1995. These waivers were filed to allow
sufficient time for consideration of the utility's request.

TARIFF REQUEST

The utility's filing was not in accordance with Section
367.091, Florida Statutes, which in part provides the following:

(3) A utility may only impose and collect those rates
and charges approved by the Commission for the particular
class of service involved. A change in any rate schedule
may not be made without Commission approval.

(4) I1If any request for service of a utility shall be for
a new class of service not previously approved, the
utility may furnish the new class of service and fix and
charge Jjust, reasonable, and compensatory rates or
charges therefor. A schedule of rates or charges so
fixed shall be filed with the Commission within 10 days
after the service is furnished. The Commission may
approve such rates or charges as filed or may approve
such other rates or charges for the new class of service
which it finds are just, reasonable, and compensatory.

(5) An application to establish, increase, or chanje a
rate or charge other than the monthly rates for service
pursuant to s.367.081 or service availability charges
pursuant to s.367.101 must be accompanied by a cost
justification. The Commission may withhold consent to
the operation of any or all portions of the new rate
schedules, by a vote to that effect within 60 days giving
a reason or statement of good cause for withholding its
consent. The Commission shall render its final decision
on the application within 8 months after the official
date of filing.

When Mid-County filed for its 1last rate case (Docket
No. 921293-SU), it provided tariffs for metered customers only. As
part of that filing, Mid-County included revenues for the three
flat rate customers. Mid-County provided service to these three
customers before filing tariffs at rates set without Commission
approval. Therefore, HMid—-County is in violation of Section
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367.091, Florida Statutes. Further, the application did not
contain the cost justification as required by Section 367.091(5),
Florida Statutes.

FLAT RATES FOR UNMETERED CUSTOMERS

Utility counsel asserts that while Mid-County was under prior
ownership, the utility agreed to provide wastewater service to
three customers (including the mobile home park) who obtained water
service from private wells.

Utility counsel further asserts the following: Mid-County
apparently never had approved tariff sheets for flat rate
wastewater service; all price indexing and pass-through rate
adjustments to the customers billed on a flat rate basis have been
applied on an equal percentage basis, since the utility was
acquired by its current owner; the revenues generated from the
three flat rate customers were included in the utility's test year
revenues for its recent rate case; those customers received notice
of the proposed rate increase; Mid-County inadvertently failed to
file tariff sheets covering this flat rate service and the current
filing is to correct that oversight.

After the utility submitted its tariff sheets for flat rate
wastewater customers, staff initiated an investigation (even though
the rates are presently being charged) to determine if the rates
being charged are just, reasonable and not overly compensatory.
The utility currently bills the mobile home park $1,522.04 monthly
and its unmetered residential customers $48.33 bi-monthly. By
letter dated January 24, 1995, the utility provided staff a cost
justification. The utility stated that the current monthly and bi-
monthly charges were derived by applying the most recent index and
pass-through rate increases to the prior rates in effect at the
time the system was acquired by its current owners.

If the utility had requested a new class of service without a
specified rate, our analysis shows that the flat rate for the
mobile home park would be $1,616.74 monthly and $47.04 bi-monthly
for the residential customers. Based on this analysis, the mobile
home park rate being charged by the utility is $94.70 less than
staff's calculated rate and the bi-monthly residential charge is
$1.29 more than staff's calculated rate. We believe that the rates
being charged by the utility are just, reasonable and compensatory.
Revenue generated by the unmetered customers was included in the
last rate case (Docket No. 921293-SU) as special contract revenue.
The approval of the tariff sheets submitted by the utility
reflecting the flat rates for unmetered customers will not cause
the utility to generate revenue in excess of our approved revenue
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requirement. Therefore, we find it appropriate to approve the
utility's tariff sheets reflecting flat rates for wastewater
service. In accordance with Rule 25-30.475, Florida Administrative
Code, the flat rate shall become effective for service rendered as
of the stamped approval date on the tariff sheets provided the
customers have received notice. The utility shall provide proof
that the customers have received the notice within 10 days of the
date of the notice.

SHOW CAUSE

As noted earlier, Utilities, Inc. is the current owner of Mid-
County. The prior owner was providing wastewater service to the
three customers in question at the time of purchase by Utilities,
Inc.

Under its current ownership, Mid-County applied to the
Commission for a rate increase in Docket No. 921293-SU. On August
24, 1994, the Commission issued Order PSC-94-1042-FQF-WS
establishing rates for Mid-County's metered use wastewater
customers. As part of that rate case, Mid-County included the
revenues of the three customers in question. However, Mid-County
has never filed tariff sheets with the Commission for these
customers.

Section 367.091(4) F.S. provides in part:

If any request for service of a utility shall
be for a new class of service not previously
approved, the utility may furnish the new
class of service and fix and charge just,
reasonable, and compensatory rates or charges
therefor. A schedule of rates or charges so
filed shall be filed with the commission
within 10 days after the service is furnished.

Section 367.161(1), Florida Statutes, authorizes us to assess a
penalty of not more than $5,000 for each offense, if a utility is
found to have knowingly refused to comply with, or to have
willfully violated, any provision of Chapter 367, Florida Statutes.
The utility's act was willful in the sense intended by Section
367.161, Florida Statutes.

In Order No. 24306, issued April 1, 1991, in Docket No.
890216-TL tltled In Re: In gg;;ggg; n Into The Proper Application
n o avings und for 1988

, this Commission, having found that
the company had not intended to violate the rule, nevertheless
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found it appropriate to order it to show cause why it should not be
fined, stating that "In our view, willful implies an intent to do
an act, and this is distinct from an intent to violate a statute or
rule."

Although failure to file tariff sheets with the Commission
within ten days after providing a new class of service is an
apparent violation of Section 367.091(4), Florida Statutes, we do
not believe that such violation rises to the level that warrants a
show cause proceeding. There are mitigating circumstances. As
noted above, Mid-County, provided service to the three customers in
guestion prior to purchase of the utility by the current owner.
After the Commission issued Order PSC-94-1042-FOF-WS, Mid-County
discovered its failure to have the approved tariff sheets. Upon
this discovery, the utility promptly filed the required tariff
sheets.

For the above reasons, although we recognize that utilities
are charged with knowledge of Chapter 367, Florida Statutes, we do
not believe that this utility's apparent violation of Section
367.091(4), Florida Statutes, rises to the level of warranting that
a show cause order be issued. We find it appropriate not to order
Mid-County to show cause for failing to file tariff sheets with the
Commission within ten days prior to providing the new class of
service.

If there are no timely objections to the tariff, no further
action will be required and this docket shall be closed. 1In the
event that a timely protest is filed, the tariff shall remain in
effect, and the revenues should be held subject to refund pending
resolution of the protest.

Based on the foregoing, it is, therefore,

ORDERED by the Florida Public Service Commission that Mid-
County Services, Inc's tariff sheets reflecting flat rates for
wastewater service are hereby approved. It is further

ORDERED that for the aforementioned reasons, show cause
proceedings will not be initiated against Mid-County Services, Inc.
It is further

ORDERED that the tariff sheets approved herein shall become
effective for services rendered on or after the stamped approval
date on the tariff sheets, in accordance with Rule 25-30.475,
Florida Administrative Code, provided the customers have received
notice. It is further
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ORDERED that Mid-County Services, Inc. shall provide this
Commission proof that the customers have received notice within ten
days of the date of the Notice. If is further

ORDERED that the tariff sheets approved herein are interim in
nature and shall become final unless a substantially affected
person files a petition for a formal proceeding which is received
by the Director, Division of Records and Reporting, by the date set
forth in the notice of Further Proceedings or Judicial Review set
forth below. It is further

ORDERED that if a timely protest is filed in accordance with
the requirements set forth below, this tariff shall remain in
effect subject to refund pending resolution of the protest. It is
further

ORDERED that if no timely protest is filed, this docket shall
be closed.

By ORDER of the Florida Public Service Commission, this 14th

day of March, 1995.
L&.._‘., & :

BLANCA S. BAYO, Director
Division of Records and Reporting

(SEAL)

v
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ROTICE OF FURTHER PROCEEDINGS OR JUDICIAL REVIEW

The Florida Public Service Commission is required by Section
120.59(4), Florida Statutes, to notify parties of any
administrative hearing or judicial review of Commission orders that
is available under Sections 120.57 or 120.68, Florida Statutes, as
well as the procedures and time limits that apply. This notice
should not be construed to mean all requests for an administrative
hearing or judicial review will be granted or result in the relief
sought.

The Commission's decision on this tariff is interim in nature
and will become final, unless a person whose substantial interests
are affected by the action proposed files a petition for a formal
proceeding, as provided by Rule 25-22.036(4), Florida
Administrative Code, in the form provided by Rule
25-22.036(7) (a) (d) and (e), Florida Administrative Code. This
petition must be received by the Director, Division of Records and
Reporting, 101 East Gaines Street, Tallahassee, Florida 32399-0870,

by the close of business on April 4, 1995.

In the absence of such a petition, this order shall become
final on the day subsequent to the above date.

Any objection or protest filed in this docket before the
issuance date of this Order is considered abandoned unless it
satisfies the foregoing conditions and is renewed within the
specified protest period.

If this Order becomes final on the date described above, any
party adversely affected may request judicial review by the Florida
Supreme Court in the case of an electric, gas or telephone utility
or by the First District Court of Appeal in the case of a water or
wastewater utility by filing a notice of appeal with the Director,
Division of Records and Reporting and filing a copy of the notice
of appeal and the filing fee with the appropriate court. This
filing must be completed within thirty (30) days of the date this
Order becomes final, pursuant to Rule 9.110, Florida Rules of
Appellate Procedure. The notice of appeal must be in the form
specified in Rule 9.900(a), Florida Rules of Appellate Procedure.
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