BEFORE THE FLORIDA PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION

Services

In Re: Request for Exemption ) DOCKET NO. 950545-WS
from Florida Public Service ) ORDER NO. PSC-95-0837-FOF-WS
Commission Regulation for ) ISSUED: July 13, 1995
Provision of Water and )
Wastewater Service in Lake )
County by Calflor Utility )

)

)

ORDER TNDICATING EXEMPT STATUS OF CALFLOR UTILITY SERVICES
AND CLOSING DOCKET

BY THE COMMISSION:

On May 10, 1995, (Calflor Utility Services (Calflor or
utility), a partnership, timely filed an application with this
Commission for recognition of its exempt status, pursuant to
Section 367.021(5), Florida Statutes. Calflor is a utility
supplying water and wastewater services at no cost to Citrus valley
Campground, a 191-site campground, in Lake County. The utility and
the campground are both located at 2500 South U.S. Highway 27,
Clermont, Florida 32711. The primary contact person for Calflor
is Mr. John A. Priede of Citrus Valley Campground, P.0O. Box 2989,
Orlando, Florida 32802. Mr. Bruce G. Goren of Calflor Properties,
owners of both the utility and the campground, filed a separate
statement on June 22, 1995, authorizing Mr. Priede to act on behalf
of the owners. Mr. Goren’s mailing address is 10850 Wilshire
Boulevard, Suite 600, Los Angeles, California 90024,

Calflor has been in operation in Lake County for approximately
20 years. On August 11, 1994, Calflor filed an application for
certification, seeking to serve a single family residential
development planned on land surrounding the campground. In Order
‘No. PSC-95-0485-FOF-WS, issued April 13, 1995, we denied Calflor’s
request for water and wastewater certificates, having learned that
Lake County had yet to approve the utility’s development plans.
Instead, we ordered the utility to file an application for an
appropriate exemption pursuant to Section 367.022, Florida
Statutes, within 60 days of the effective date of the order.

Upon request and sufficient proof, the Commission will issue
an order recognizing the nonjurisdictional or exempt status of
water and wastewater facilities, if they qualify under the
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appropriate provision of Chapter 367, Florida Statutes. While
Calflor’'s application was filed in accordance with Section
367.022(5), Florida Statutes, and Rule 25-30.060(e), Florida
Administrative Code, we believe that the application also satisfies
the requirements of Section 367.022(4), Florida Statutes, and Rule
25-30.060(d), Florida Administrative Code.

Section 367.022(5), Florida Statutes, provides that landlords
providing service to their tenants without specific compensation
for the service are not subject to Commission requlation. Section

367.022(4), Florida Statutes, provides that public lodging
establishments providing service solely in connection with service
to their guests are not subject to Commission regulation. The

applicant states that it provides services solely to its tenants
and guests; that charges for the services are non-specifically
contained in the rental charges; and that the service territory is
limited to the campground at 2500 South U.S. Highway 27, Clermont,
Florida 32711. A copy of the landlord’s most recent version of a
standard lease was included with the application.

Pursuant to Section 837.06, Florida Statutes, and Rule 25-
30.060(2) (£}, Florida Administrative Code, anyone knowingly making
a false statement in writing with the intent to mislead is guilty
of a misdemeanor. In signing the application, Mr. Priede
acknowledged that he is aware of Section 837.06, Florida Statutes,
and the penalties for making false statements in the application.

Based on the facts as represented by the applicant, we find
that Calflor is exempt from Commission regulation, pursuant to
Sections 367.022(5) and (4), Florida Statues. However, should
there be any change in circumstances or method of operation, the
owner of Calflor or any successor in interest must inform the
Commission within 30 days of such change so that its exempt status
may be reevaluated.

Based on the foregoing, it is, therefore

ORDERED by the Florida Public Service Commission that, based
upon the facts as represented, Calflor Utility Services, 2500 South
U.S. Highway 27, Clermont, Florida 32711, is exempt from
Commission regulation, pursuant to Section 367.022(5), Florida
Statutes, and Section 367.022(4), Florida Statutes. It is further

ORDERED that should there be any change in circumstances or
method of operation, the owner of Calflor Utility Services or any
successor in interest shall inform the Commission within 30 days of
such change so that its exempt status may be reevaluated. It is
further
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ORDERED that this docket is hereby closed.

By ORDER of the Florida Public Service Commission, this 13th

day of July, 1995.
BLANCA S. BAYO, Direg:lr
Division of Records and Reporting
(SEAL)
CJP

NOTICE OF FURTHER PROCEEDINGS OR JUDICIAL REVIEW

The Florida Public Service Commission is required by Section
120.59(4), Florida Statutes, to notify parties of any
administrative hearing or judicial review of Commission orders that
is available under Sections 120.57 or 120.68, Florida Statutes, as
well as the procedures and time limits that apply. This notice
should not be construed to mean all requests for an administrative
hearing or judicial review will be granted or result in the relief

sought.

Any party adversely affected by the Commission’s final action
in this matter may request: 1) reconsideration of the decision by
filing a motion for reconsideration with the Director, Division of
Records and Reporting, 2540 Shumard Oak Boulevard, Tallahassee,
Florida 32399-0850, within fifteen (15) days of the issuance of
this order in the form prescribed by Rule 25-22.060, Florida
Administrative Code; or 2) judicial review by the Florida Supreme
Court in the case of an electric, gas or telephone utility or the
First District Court of Appeal in the case of a water and/or
wastewater utility by filing a notice of appeal with the Director,
Division of Records and Reporting and filing a copy of the notice
of appeal and the filing fee with the appropriate court. This
filing must be completed within thirty (30) days after the issuance
of this order, pursuant to Rule 9.110, Florida Rules of Appellate
Procedure. The notice of appeal must be in the form specified in
Rule 5.900 (a), Florida Rules of Appellate Procedure.





