GATLIN, WOODS & CARLSON

Attorneys at Law a partnership including a professional association

The Mahan Station 1709-D Mahan Drive Tallahassee, Florida 32308

B. Kenneth Gatlin, P.A. Thomas F. Woods John D. Carlson Wayne L. Schiefelbein Telephone (904) 877-7191 Telecopier (904) 877-9031

March 11, 1996

HAND DELIVERY

Ms. Blanca S. Bayo, Director Division of Records and Reporting Florida Public Service Commission 2540 Shumard Oak Blvd. Tallahassee, FL 32399-1850

RE: Docket No. 951056-WS

Application by PALM COAST UTILITY CORPORATION

for a rate increase in Flagler County, Florida

Dear Ms. Bayo:

Enclosed for filing are an orignal and fifteen copies of the Staff-approved Notice of Application, in reference to the above docket.

Please acknowledge receipt of the foregoing by stamping the enclosed extra copy of this letter and returning same to my attention. Thank you for your assistance.

Sincerely,

Wayne L. Schiefelbein

Hoyre L Charlethan

WLS/met

Enclosures

Mr. Ralph Jaeger, Div. of Legal Services

DOCUMENT NUMBER-DATE

02980 MARII #

FPSC-RECORDS/REPORTING

NOTICE

Palm Coast Utility Corporation has applied to the Florida Public Service Commission for a rate increase for its water and wastewater service in Flagler County, Docket No. 951056-WS. Palm Coast Utility Corporation has also applied to the Commission for approval of an increase in water and wastewater plant capacity charges in Flagler County, Docket No. 951593-WS, separate from the above rate case docket.

A rate increase is necessary to allow the utility to recover the reasonable and prudent costs of providing service and an opportunity to earn a fair and reasonable rate of return.

The following is a comparison of the present rates, proposed interim rates, and the proposed final rates.

WATER SERVICE

Class/Meter Size	<u>Present</u> <u>Rates</u>	<u>Proposed</u> <u>Interim</u> Rates	<u>Proposed</u> <u>Final</u> Rates
Residential Base Facility Charge (Monthly Minimum)		<u>itaces</u>	<u>itaces</u>
5/8 x 3/4"	\$10.55	\$11.50	\$15.36
Gallonage charge/1000 gallons (No Maximum)	\$3.60	\$3.93	\$4.52
General Service & Multifamily Base Facility Charge (Monthly Minimum)			
5/8 x ¾" 1" 1-½" 2" 3" 4" 6"	\$10.55 26.34 52.69 84.29 168.58 263.41 526.81	183.84 287.25	\$15.36 38.39 76.79 122.86 245.71 383.93 767.84
Gallonage Charge/1000 gallons (No Maximum)	3.60	3.93	4.52
<u>Hammock Dunes Bulk Rate</u> Base Facility Charge (Monthly Minimum)			
6"	195.79	213.51	285.64

Gallonage Charge/1000 gallons (No Maximum)	1.01	1.10	1.26				
<u>Irrigation Service - All Classes</u> Base Facility Charge (Monthly Minimum)							
5/8 x 3/4" 1 " 1 - 3/2" 2 " 3 " 4 " 6 "	52.69	28.72 57.46 91.92 183.84 287.25					
Gallonage Charge/1000 gallons (No Maximum)	3.60	3.93	4.52				
Private Fire Protection (Monthly Charge)							
4" Line 6" Line 8" Line 10" Line 12" Line	87.89 175.60 280.95 403.83 754.94	191.49 306.38 440.38	31.97 63.87 102.18 146.88 274.58				
<u>Public Fire Hydrants</u> Annual Charge Per Hydrant	100.00	100.00	0.00				
WASTEWATER SERVICE							
<u>Class/Meter Size</u>	<u>Present</u> <u>Rates</u>	Proposed Interim Rates	<u>Proposed</u> <u>Final</u> <u>Rates</u>				
Residential Base Facility Charge (Monthly Minimum)							
5/8 X 3/4"	\$11.10	\$12.75	\$13.46				
Gallonage charge/1000 gallons (8000 Gallons Maximum)	\$2.93	\$3.36	\$4.66				
General Service & Multifamily Base Facility Charge (Monthly Minimum)							
5/8 x ¾" 1"	\$11.10 27.72	\$12.75 31.83	\$13.46 33.65				

1-1/2"	55.44	63.66	67.31
2 "	88.69	101.83	107.69
3 "	177.39	203.68	215.38
4 "	277.18	318.26	336.53
6 "	554.35	636.50	673.05
Gallonage Charge/1000 gallons (No Maximum)	3.52	4.04	5.60
Effluent Reuse Service	0.00	0.00	6.5
Gallonage charge/1000 gallons	0.00	0.00	.67

The Commission may modify the proposed rates so as to increase or decrease the proportionate amounts allocated to the base facility charge (the fixed minimum monthly amount regardless of usage) and the gallonage charge (which will vary with actual usage). The Commission may also modify the rates so as to allocate revenue among the various customer classes (residential, general service, etc.) in a different manner than that proposed by the Applicant.

The Applicant is proposing to eliminate the Public Hydrant Charge. Public hydrants provide for the public welfare of all customers of the Applicant and the cost of maintaining the hydrants can be absorbed by all customers without any discernible impact. Public fire hydrant revenues represent approximately 1.8% of the requested revenues. Additionally, the administrative costs in maintaining a separate charge and agreement with Flagler County are cost prohibitive.

The Applicant is also proposing to add a new rate class for effluent reuse customers. The revenues associated with providing reuse service have been used to reduce the revenues to be recovered from other wastewater customer classes. The proposed charge for effluent reuse service is \$0.67 per 1000 gallons and is projected to generate annual revenue of \$195,640 on a pro forma basis.

In accordance with Rule 25-30.465, Florida Administrative Code, the Applicant proposes reduction of the Private Fire Protection charge, to one-twelfth of the base facility charge for the equivalent meter size.

CASE SCHEDULE

The following dates have been established to govern the key activities of this case:

1.	Agenda Conference on Interim Rates	March 19, 1996
	(Tallahassee)	
2.	Order on Interim Rates	April 8, 1996
3.	Intervenor Testimony Due	May 15, 1996
4.	Staff Testimony Due	May 29, 1996

5.	Prehearing Statements Due	June 3, 1996
6.	Prehearing Conference (Tallahassee)	June 10, 1996
7.	Rebuttal Testimony Due	June 12, 1996
8.	Issuance of Prehearing Order	June 24, 1996
9.	Hearing (Palm Coast)	July 1-2, 1996
10.	Briefs Due	July 24, 1996
11.	Staff Recommendation on Final Rates	September 19, 1996
12.	Agenda Conference on Final Rates	October 1, 1996
13.	Commission Order on Final Rates	October 21, 1996

This schedule is tentative and subject to change by the Commission.

A copy of the application, minimum filing requirements and synopsis are available for inspection at the Utility's office as follows:

Palm Coast Utility Corporation 2 Utility Drive Palm Coast, Florida 32137 (904) 445-3311

Business Hours: 8:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m. Monday through Friday

The MFRs are also available for inspection in the reference section during normal library business hours at:

Flagler County Library 264 Palm Coast Parkway Palm Coast, Florida 32137 (904) 445-2340

Written comments concerning the utility's service or the proposed rate increase should be addressed to the Director, Division of Records and Reporting, Florida Public Service Commission, 2540 Shumard Oak Boulevard, Tallahassee, Florida 32399-0850, and should reference Docket No. 951056-WS. Complaints regarding service may be made to the Commission's Division of Consumer Affairs at the following toll free number: 1-800-342-3552.

The Commission will be reviewing the utility's service availability charges in the pending rate case and may adjust those charges.

MOTICE	issuance	date.	19	91	4
INCOLUCE:	ISSUAIICE	uate.	エン	,	_