BEFORE THE FLORIDA PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION

In re: Cancellation by Florida DOCKET NO. 970958-TI

Public Service Commission of ORDER NO. PSC-97-1114-FOF-TI
Interexchange Telecommunications ISSUED: September 24, 1997
Certificate No. 4014 issued to
Quarter Call, Inc. for violation
of Rule 25-4.,0161, F.A.C.,
Regulatory Assessment Fees.

The following Commissioners participated in the disposition of
this matter:

JULIA L. JOHNSON, Chairman
J. TERRY DEASON
SUSAN F. CLARK

DIANE K. KIESLING
JOE GARCIA

NOTICE OF PROPOSED AGENCY ACTION ORDER IMPOSING
FINE AND REQUIRING PAYMENT OF REGULATORY ASSESSMENT
FEES OR CANCELING INTEREXCHANGE TELECOMMUNICATIONS

CERTIFICATE AND DIRECTING CERTIFICATED INTEREXCHANGE
TELECOMMUNICATIONS PROVIDERS TO DISCONTINUE SERVICE

BY THE COMMISSION:

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN by the Florida Public Service
Commission that the action discussed herein is preliminary in
nature and will become final unless a person whose interests are
substantially affected files a petition for a formal proceeding,
pursuant to Rule 25-22.029, Florida Administrative Code.

Quarter Call, Inc. (Quarter Call or the company), an
interexchange telecommunications carrier (IXC), currently holds
certificate of public convenience and necessity number 4014, issued
by the Commission on May 19, 1995, authorizing the provision of
interexchange telecommunications service. Quarter Call has not
paid the regulatory assessment fees required by Section 364.336,
Florida Statutes, and Rule 25-4.0161, Florida Administrative Code,
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for the years 1995 and 1996. The regulatory assessment fee form
was mailed to Quarter Call in December, 1996, for the period of
January 1, 1996, through December 31, 1996. Pursuant to Rule 25-
4.0161(2), Florida Administrative Code, the form and applicable
fees are due to the Florida Public Service Commission by January 30

of the subsequent year. Quarter Call was notified of its
delinquency on June 3, 1997. The company has been given adequate
opportunity to pay. To date, the Commission’s correspondence

regarding the regulatory assessment fees has been returned by the
post office, and Quarter Call has not paid the required fees.

For the reason described above, pursuant to Rule 25-
24.474(1) (b) and (c), Florida Administrative Code, we find it
appropriate to cancel Quarter Call's certificate, unless the
company pays a $500 fine for failure to comply with Section
364.336, Florida Statutes, and Rule 25-4.0161, Florida
Administrative Code, and remits all past due regulatory assessment
fees, along with statutory penalties and interest charges, to the
Florida Public Service Commission. Quarter Call must comply with
these requirements within 5 business days from the date this Order
becomes final. The fine will be remitted to the Comptroller for
deposit in the State of Florida General Revenue Fund, pursuant to
Section 364.516, Florida Statutes.

When the appropriate fees, statutory penalties, interest
charges, and fine is received, this docket shall be closed. Should
Quarter Call fail to comply with this Order within 5 business days
from the date this Order becomes final, Quarter Call shall have its
certificate canceled and the docket will be closed. The
cancellation of the certificate and the closing of the docket in no
way diminishes Quarter Call's obligation to pay applicable
delinquent regulatory assessment fees, statutory penalties, and
interest charges.

Should Quarter Call’s certificate be canceled, all
certificated interexchange carriers in the State of Florida are
instructed to discontinue service to Quarter Call, pursuant to Rule
25-24.4701(3), Florida Administrative Code, Provision of Regulated
Telecommunications Service to Uncertificated Resellers Prohibited.
Any certificated interexchange carriers providing service to
Quarter Call must contact the Commission at the conclusion of the
response period indicated herein in order to determine if Quarter
Call’s certificate has been canceled.
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Based on the foregoing, it is

ORDERED by the Florida Public Service Commission that Quarter
Call, Inc. must pay the past due regulatory assessment fees,
statutory penalties, interest charges, and a $500 fine to the
Florida Public Service Commission for failure to comply with
Section 364.336, Florida Statutes, and Rule 25-4.0161, Florida
Administrative Code, within 5 business days from the date this
Order becomes final. The fine will be transmitted to the
Comptroller for deposit in the State of Florida General Revenue
Fund. It is further

ORDERED that should Quarter Call, Inc. fail to comply with
this Order, Quarter Call, Inc.’s certificate shall be canceled, and
the docket shall be closed. It is further

- ORDERED that the cancellation of the certificate and the
closing of the docket in no way diminishes Quarter Call, Inc.'s
obligation to pay applicable delinguent regulatory assessment fees,
statutory penalties, and interest charges. It is further

ORDERED that all certificated interexchange telecommunicatioiis
providers shall discontinue service to Quarter Call, Inc. upon
verification of the cancellation of the certificate at the
conclusion of the response period set forth in this Order. It is
further

ORDERED that the provisions of this Order, issued as proposed
agency action, shall become final and effective unless an
appropriate petition, in the form provided by Rule 25-22.036,
Florida Administrative Code, is received by the Director, Division
of Records and Reporting, 2540 Shumard Oak Boulevard, Tallahassee,
Florida 32399-0850, by the close of business on the date set forth
in the "Notice of Further Proceedings or Judicial Review" attached
hereto. It is further

ORDERED that in the event this Order becomes final, this
Docket shall be closed vpon payment of the fines, and fees or upon
cancellation of the certificate.
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By ORDER of the Florida Public Service Commission, this 24th
day of September, 1997.

BLANCA S. BAY0, Director
Division of Records and Reporting

By: Aﬁﬁlld_
Kay Flydh, Chidf
Bureau of Records

(SEAL)

KMP
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NOTICE OF FURTHER PROCEEDINGS OR JUDICIAL REVIEW

The Florida Public Service Commission is required by Section
120.569(1), Florida Statutes, to notify parties of any
administrative hearing or judicial review of Commission orders that
is available under Sections 120.57 or 120.68, Florida Statutes, as
well as the procedures and time limits that apply. This notice
should not be construed to mean all requests for an administrative
hearing or judicial review will be granted or result in the relief
sought.

Mediation may be available on a case-by-case basis. If
mediation is conducted, it does not affect a substantially
interested person’s right to a hearing.

The action proposed herein is preliminary in nature and will
not become effective or final, except as provided by Rule 25-
22.029, Florida Administrative Code. Any person whose substantial
interests are affected by the action proposed by this order may
file a petition for a formal proceeding, as provided by Rule 25-
22.029(4), Florida Administrative Code, in the form provided by
Rule 25-22.036(7)(a) and (f), Florida Administrative Code. "his
petition must be received by the Director, Division of Records and
Reporting, 2540 Shumard Oak Boulevard, Tallahassee, Florida 32399-
0850, by the close of business on QOctober 15, 1997.

In the absence of such a petition, this order shall become
effective on the day subsequent to the above date as provided by
Rule 25-22.029(6), Florida Administrative Code.

Any objection or protest filed in this docket before the
issuance date of this order is considered abandoned unless it
satisfies the foregoing conditions and is renewed within the
specified protest period.

If this order becomes final and effective on the date
described above, any party substantially affected may reguest
judicial review by the Florida Supreme Court in the case of an
electric, gas or telephone utility or by the First District Court
of Appeal in the case of a water or wastewater utility by filing a
notice of appeal with the Director, Division of Records and
Reporting and filing a copy of the notice of appeal and the filing
fee with the appropriate court. This filing must be completed
within thirty (30) days of the effective date of this order,
pursuant to Rule 9.110, Florida Rules of Appellate Procedure. The
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notice of appeal must be in the form specified in Rule 9.900(a),
Florida Rules of Appellate Procedure.
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