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NOTICE OF PROPOSED AGENCY ACTION 
ORDER IMPOSING FINES AND REOUIRING PAYMENT OF REGULATORY 
ASSESSMENT FEES, OR CANCELING PAY TELEPHONE CERTIFICATE 

BY THE COMMISSION: 

NOTICE is hereby given by the Florida Public Service 
Commission that the action discussed herein is preliminary in 
nature and will become final unless a person whose interests are 
substantially affected files a petition for a formal proceeding, 
pursuant to Rule 25-22.029, Florida Administrative Code. 

South Florida Bioavailability Clinic (SFBC) currently holds 
Certificate of Public Convenience and Necessity No. 3046, issued by 
the Commission on June 2, 1992, authorizing the provision of pay 
telephone service. After researching SFBC's account and status 
with the Commission, it was determined that SFBC had failed to 
comply with Section 364.336, Florida Statutes, and Rule 25-4.0161, 
Florida Administrative Code; and Rule 25-4.043, Florida 
Administrative Code. 
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Section 364.336, Florida Statutes, and Rule 25-4.0161, Florida 
Administrative Code, Requlatorv Assessment Fees 

SFBC has not paid the regulatory assessment fees (RAF) 
required by Section 364.336, Florida Statutes, and Rule 25-4.0161, 
Florida Administrative Code, for the year 1997. Also, accrued 
statutory penalties and interest charges for the years 1995 and 
1997 have not been paid. Pursuant to Section 364.336, Florida 
Statutes, certificate holders must pay a minimum annual RAF of $50 
if the certificate was active during any portion of the calendar 
year. Pursuant to Rule 25-4.0161 (2), Florida Administrative Code, 
the form and applicable fees are due to the Florida Public Service 
Commission by January 30 of the subsequent year. All entities that 
apply for certification receive a copy of our rules governing Pay 
Telephone service. All applicants must attest that these rules 
have been received and understood by the applicant and an affidavit 
must be attached to the application in order for the application to 
be processed. 

Pursuant to Section 350.113 (4), Florida Statutes, the RAFs 
forms for the period of January 1 through December 31, are mailed 
to entities at least 45 days prior to the date that payment of the 
fees is due. 

On September 16, 1998, our staff contacted the company and 
spoke with Mr. Arnold Hantman, who advised our staff that he would 
pay the past due amount and make a settlement offer. Mr. Hantman 
further requested that we provide him with the correct RAFs form 
and the amount due. Our staff mailed the information on 
September 17, 1998, and requested a response by September 30, 1998. 

The Division of Administration’s records show that SFBC paid 
the 1997 RAFs, a partial amount on the statutory penalty accrued, 
but failed to pay interest charges accrued. SFBC also failed to 
pay he 1995 statutory penalties and interest charges accrued. 
Further, the Division of Administration’s records show that the 
1998 RAFS, as well as the statutory penalties and interest charges 
accrued for 1998, are still outstanding. 

Our staff sought to contact Mr. Hantman on January 28, 1999, 
and February 4, 1999, but all attempts were unsuccessful. SFBC has 
been given adequate opportunity to pay. As of the date of this 
vote, SFBC has neither paid the balance of the past due amount nor 
filed a settlement offer. Thus, it appears that SFBC has violated 
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Section 364.336, Florida Statutes, and Rule 25-4.0161, Florida 
Administrative Code. 

Rule 25-4.043, Florida Administrative Code, Response to Commission 
Staff Inauiries 

Rule 25-4.043, Florida Administrative Code, requires companies 
to respond to inquiries from Commission staff within 15 days. SFBC 
has failed to respond to our staff's inquiries relating to the 
payment of the balance of the amount due and the settlement offer. 
To date, SFBC has not responded. Thus, it appears that SFBC has 
violated Rule 25-4.043, Florida Administrative Code. 

Conclusion 

For the reason described above, pursuant to Rule 25- 
24.514(1) (b) and (c), Florida Administrative Code, we find it 
appropriate to cancel SFBC's certificate, effective December 31, 
1998, unless SFBC pays a $500 fine for failure to comply with 
Section 364.336, Florida Statutes, and Rule 25-4.0161, Florida 
Administrative Code and remits the balance of the past due amount 
and the 1998 regulatory assessment fees, as well as statutory 
penalties and interest charges accrued, to the Florida Public 
Service Commission. We also find it appropriate to cancel SFBC's 
certificate, effective December 31, 1998, unless SFBC pays a 
$10,000 fine for failure to comply with Rule 25-4.043, Florida 
Administrative Code. 

SFBC must comply with these requirements within five business 
days from the date this Order becomes final. The fine will be 
remitted to the Comptroller for deposit in the State of Florida 
General Revenue Fund, pursuant to Section 364.516, Florida 
Statutes. 

When the appropriate fees, statutory penalties, interest 
charges, and fines are received, this Docket shall be closed. 
Should SFBC fail to comply with this Order within five business 
days from the date this Order becomes final, SFBC shall have its 
certificate canceled, effective December 31, 1998, and the Docket 
shall be closed. The cancellation of the certificate and the 
closing of the Docket in no way diminishes SFBC's obligation to pay 
applicable delinquent regulatory assessment fees, statutory 
penalties, and interest charges. 
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Based on the foregoing, it is 

ORDERED by the Florida Public Service Commission that South 
Florida Bioavailability Clinic must pay the past due regulatory 
assessment fees, statutory penalties, interest charges, and a $500 
fine to the Florida Public Service Commission for failure to comply 
with Section 364.336, Florida Statutes, and Rule 25-4.0161, Florida 
Administrative Code, within five business days from the date this 
Order becomes final. The fine will be transmitted to the 
Comptroller for deposit in the State of Florida General Revenue 
Fund. It is further 

ORDERED that the cancellation of the certificate and the 
closing of the docket in no way diminishes South Florida 
Bioavailability Clinic's obligation to pay applicable delinquent 
regulatory assessment fees, statutory penalties, and interest 
charges. It is further 

ORDERED that South Florida Bioavailability Clinic must pay a 
$10,000 fine to the Florida Public Service Commission for failure 
to comply with Rule 25-4.043, Florida Administrative Code, within 
five business days from the date this Order becomes final. The 
fine will be transmitted to the Comptroller for deposit in the 
State of Florida General Revenue Fund. It is further 

ORDERED that should South Florida Bioavailability Clinic fail 
to comply with this Order, South Florida Bioavailability Clinic's 
certificate shall be canceled and the Docket shall be closed. It is 
further 

ORDERED that the provisions of this Order, issued as proposed 
agency action, shall become final and effective unless an 
appropriate petition, in the form provided by Rule 28-106.201, 
Florida Administrative Code, is received by the Director, Division 
of Records and Reporting, 2540 Shumard Oak Boulevard, Tallahassee, 
Florida 32399-0850, by the close of business on the date set forth 
in the "Notice of Further Proceedings or Judicial Review" attached 
hereto. It is further 

ORDERED that in the event this Order becomes final, this 
Docket shall be closed upon payment of the fines, and fees, or upon 
cancellation of the certificate. 
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By ORDER of the Florida Public Service Commission this 10th 
day of m, 1999. 

BLANCA S. BAYO, Dire&& 
Division of Records and Reporting 

( S E A L )  

KMP 

NOTICE OF FURTHER PROCEEDINGS OR JUDICIAL REVIEW 

The Florida Public Service Commission is required by Section 
120.569(1), Florida Statutes, to notify parties of any 
administrative hearing or judicial review of Commission orders that 
is available under Sections 120.57 or 120.68, Florida Statutes, as 
well as the procedures and time limits that apply. This notice 
should not be construed to mean all requests for an administrative 
hearing or judicial review will be granted or result in the relief 
sought. 

Mediation may be available on a case-by-case basis. If 
mediation is conducted, it does not affect a substantially 
interested person's right to a hearing. 

The action proposed herein is preliminary in nature. Any 
person whose substantial interests are affected by the action 
proposed by this order may file a petition for a formal proceeding, 
in the form provided by Rule 28-106.201, Florida Administrative 
Code. This petition must be received by the Director, Division of 
Records and Reporting, 2540 Shumard Oak Boulevard, Tallahassee, 
Florida 32399-0850, by the close of business on Mav 31, 1999. 

In the absence of such a petition, this Order shall become 
final the day a consummation order is issued. 

Any objection or protest filed in this docket before the 
issuance date of this order is considered abandoned unless it 
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satisfies the foregoing conditions and is renewed within the 
specified protest period. 

If this order becomes final and effective on the date 
described above, any party substantially affected may request 
judicial review by the Florida Supreme Court in the case of an 
electric, gas or telephone utility or by the First District Court 
of Appeal in the case of a water or wastewater utility by filing a 
notice of appeal with the Director, Division of Records and 
Reporting and filing a copy of the notice of appeal and the filing 
fee with the appropriate court. This filing must be completed 
within thirty (30) days of the effective date of this order, 
pursuant to Rule 9.110, Florida Rules of Appellate Procedure. The 
notice of appeal must be in the form specified in Rule 9.900(a), 
Florida Rules of Appellate Procedure. 


