PBUTL	.ER	RECEIVED-FPS	3C ≸เ⊳า.ร	ORAFS PUTET
From:	Charlene Poblete [CPOBLETE@PSC.STA	TEFNOV26 AM 9:	30	H1042
Sent:	Thursday, November 08, 2007 11:36 AM			AL 200 to TFIND
To:	Butler@eot.net	COMMISSION	LAKK.	
Cc:	Victor McKay; Paula Isler	ULE.		300. Fine
Subject	: Docket No. 070528-TI	<b>7</b> 89 N	IOV 2 6 2007	11-21-07
Dear Mr. E	Butler:			71

This is a follow-up to the voicemail message left yesterday regarding Docket No. 070528-TI.

As you know, pursuant to Section 364.336, Florida Statutes, licensed telecommunication companies shall pay to the Commission a Regulatory Assessment Fee. This Fee applies to registrations that are active for any single day during a calendar year, whether or not a company has ever started operations. Furthermore, it applies to the same, regardless of a company's improper handling of received certified mail.

Telecommunication companies that fail to pay the Regulatory Assessment Fee, including statutory late payment charges, within 15 days after receiving a delinquent notice, shall be automatically penalized \$500 for a first offense, \$1,000 for a second offense, and \$2,000 for a third offense (amount to include collection costs). If an entity fails to pay the Regulatory Assessment Fee in full, including statutory late payment charges, along with the applicable penalty amount, that entity's IXC tariff and registration **shall** be cancelled.

The docket referenced above was established on July 26, 2007 due to Empire One Telecommunications, Incorporated's failure to pay the 2006 Regulatory Assessment Fee plus statutory late payment charges. To date, our records continue to show that the fee, including statutory late payment charges, as well as the penalty amount, have **not** been paid.

If company records show that the 2006 fee, including late payment charges, which was due by January 30, 2007, has not been paid, please pay the total amount no later than November 21, 2007.

If Empire One owes the minimum amount, the fee plus late payment charges will be \$67.50. If Empire One owes more than the minimum, the fee is .0020 of its intrastate revenues, the penalty is 5% of the amount owed, and the interest is 10% of the amount owed. If you need the 2006 Regulatory Assessment Fee return form, which must be completed and returned with full payment, please let me know, and I will have someone e-mail it to you.

Empire One Telecommunications, Incorporated may opt to take any of the following actions:

(1) Provide the Commission with a copy of its cashed check, thereby proving that the fee was timely paid;

- CMP (2) Pay \$567.50, which is the minimum amount of \$67.50 plus the \$500 fine; or
- (3) Go forward with a hearing before the Commission, which will be held in Tallahassee, Florida. Please be advised that a hearing will require your presence at both the Prehearing Conference and the Hearing as well as participation in discovery and the filing of testimony.
- **ECR** Please let me know by Wednesday, November 21, 2007, how the company wishes to proceed. Thank you.
- GCL Charlene C. Poblete
- **OPC** <u>Attorney</u>, Office of the General Counsel
- Florida Public Service Commission
- RCA <u>Telephone:</u> (850) 413-6191
- **SCR** <u>E-mail</u>: cpoblete@psc.state.fl.us
- SGA \_\_\_\_\_
- SEC \_\_\_\_
- отн <u>N.</u>

11/20/2007

DOCUMENT NUMBER-DATE 10504 NOV 26 5 FPSC-COMMISSION CLERK

## TO AVOID PENALTY AND INTEREST CHARGES, THE REGULATORY ASSESSMENT FEE RETURN MUST BE FILED ON OR BEFORE 01/30/2007

## Interexchange Company Regulatory Assessment Fee Return

	Florida Public Service Commission	FOR PSC USE	ONLY
STATUS:	(See Filing Instructions on Back of Form)	Check #	
★ Actual Return	TK082-06-0-R	\$	06-03-001 003001
Estimated Return Amended Return	Empire One Telecommunications, Incorporated 55 Washington Street, 9th Floor	\$ E	000001
	Brooklyn, NY 11201-1036	\$ P	06-03-001
<b>PERIOD COVERED:</b> 07/13/2006 TO 12/31/2006	Docket No. 070528-TI	\$ I	004011
		Postmark Date Initials of Preparer	
	Please Complete Below If Official Mailing Address Has Changed		
Empire One Teleco (Name of Company)	(Address)	(City/State)	// <i>20</i> /

LINE NO.	ACCOUNT CLASSIFICATION	-	FLORIDA GROSS OPERATING REVENUE	IN	TRASTATE REVENUE
1.	Long Distance Services	\$	0	\$	0
2.	Access Services		0	_	<u> </u>
3.	Private Line Services		ð	_	
4.	Leased Facilities & Circuits Services		<u> </u>	_	
5.	Miscellaneous Services	-		_	
6.	TOTAL Telephone Services	\$_		s	$\mathcal{O}$
7.	LESS: Amounts Paid to Telecommunications Companies <sup>(1)</sup>	(_		) (	)
8.	TOTAL REVENUES For Regulatory Assessment Fee Calculation			\$	0
9.	Regulatory Assessment Fee Due (Multiply Line 8 by 0.0020)			_	1750
10.	Penalty for Late Payment (see "3. Failure to File by Due Date" on back)				500
11.	Interest for Late Payment (see "3. Failure to File by Due Date" on back)			_	
12.	Extension Payment Fee (see "4. Extension" on back)			_	
13.	TOTAL AMOUNT DUE (\$50 MINIMUM)			\$	56750

FPSC-COMMISSION CLERK

These amounts must be intrastate only and must be verifiable (see "2. Fees" on back).
 Regardless of the gross operating revenue of a company, a minimum annual regulatory assessment fee of \$50 shall be imposed as provided in Section 364.336, Florida Statutes.

	CURRENT CO	MPANY STATUS	
<ul><li>( ) Facilities-Based Carrier</li><li>( ) Alternate-Operator Service</li></ul>	() Reseller	<ul><li>( ) Call Aggregator</li><li>( ) Other:</li></ul>	
	BILLING IN	FORMATION	·····
Complete below if billing agent is other than	yourself.		( )
(Name) What is the total amount of customer deposit Amount: \$6 for 20 0	s collected?		(Telephone) ne total amount of bond held (if applicable)? : \$ Expires:
	,	NFORMATION	
Do you lease telecommunications' facilities? If YES, who do you lease these facilities from			
<ol> <li>the undersigned owner/officer of the information is a true and correct statement. the intention of the intention of the problem of the problem.</li> </ol>	I am aware that pursuant to Section 8	337.06, Florida Statutes, whoever	the best of my knowledge and belief the above knowingly makes a false statement in writing with ad degree
ine interno misicada public servanta de p			11/20/07
(Signature of Company Off	icial)	(Title)	(Date)
			<u></u>
PAUL BALL	Telephone Telephone	Number (7/8 80/	<u> 8</u> /// Fax Number <u>(718 797<i>000</i></u>
(Preparer ofform Please Pri			8/// Fax Number <u>(7/8 - 19 / 000</u>

## FLORIDA PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION

Instructions For Filing Regulatory Assessment Fee Return

(Interexchange Company)

1. WHEN TO FILE: For companies which owed a total of \$10,000 or more of assessment fee for the preceding calendar year, this Regulatory Assessment Fee Return and payment is required twice a year and payment must be filed or postmarked:

*On or before July 30* for the six-month period January 1 through June 30, <u>and</u> *On or before January 30* for the six-month period July 1 through December 31.

For companies which owed a total of **less than \$10,000** of assessment fee for the preceding calendar year, this Regulatory Assessment Fee Return and payment must be filed or postmarked:

On or before January 30 for the twelve-month period January 1 through December 31.

However, if July 30 or January 30 falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or holiday, the Regulatory Assessment Fee may be filed or postmarked on the next business day, without penalty.

2. **FEES:** Each company shall pay 0.0020 of its gross operating revenues derived from intrastate business, as referenced in Rule 25-4.0161(1), F.A.C. Gross Operating Revenues are defined as the total revenues before expenses. Gross Intrastate Operating Revenues are defined as revenues from calls originating and terminating within Florida. Do not deduct any expenses, taxes, or uncollectibles from these amounts other than the amount in Line 7.

On Line 7, deduct any amounts paid to a telecommunications company for the use of any telecommunications network to provide service to its customers. <u>Do not deduct</u> any taxes, federal subscriber line charges, interstate long distance access charges, or amounts paid for nonregulated services such as voice mail, inside wire maintenance, or equipment purchases/rentals. **DEDUCTIONS MUST BE INTRASTATE ONLY** AND MUST BE VERIFIABLE.

3. FAILURE TO FILE BY DUE DATE: Failure to file a return by the established due date will result in a penalty being added to the amount of fee due, 5% for each 30 days or fraction thereof, not to exceed a total penalty of 25% (Line 10). In addition, interest shall be added in the amount of 1% for each 30 days or fraction thereof, not to exceed a total of 12% per year (Line 11). A Regulatory Assessment Fee Return must be completed, signed, and filed even if there are no revenues to report or if the minimum amount is due.

When a company fails to timely file a Regulatory Assessment Fee Return, the Commission has the authority to order the company to pay a penalty and/or remove the company from the list of companies registered to provide service. The company will have an opportunity to respond to any proposed Commission action.

4. **EXTENSION:** A request for an extension of time up to 30 days may be made by filing the enclosed *Regulatory Assessment Fee Extension Request* form (PSC/CCA 124), two weeks prior to the filing date. When an extension is granted, a charge shall be added to the amount due (Line 12):

0.75% of the fee to be remitted for an extension of 15 days or less, *or* 1.5% of the fee for an extension of 16 to 30 days.

In lieu of paying the charges outlined above, a company may file a return and remit payment based upon estimated gross operating revenues. If such return is filed by the normal due date, the company shall be granted a 30-day extension period in which to file and remit the actual fee due without paying the above charges, provided the estimated fee payment remitted is at least 90% of the actual fee due for the period. An automatic 30-day extension to file an actual return may be obtained by checking the "Estimated Return" space in the top left-hand corner on the reverse side.

- 5. **FEE ADJUSTMENTS:** You will be notified as to the amount and reason for any fee adjustment. Penalty and interest charges may be applicable to additional amounts owed the Commission by reason of the adjustment. The company may file a written request for a refund of any overpayments. The request should be directed to Fiscal Services at the below-referenced address.
- 6. MAILING INSTRUCTIONS: Please complete this form, make a copy for your files, and return the original in the enclosed preaddressed envelope. Use of this envelope should assure a more accurate and expeditious recording of your payment. <u>Make your check payable to the Florida Public Service Commission.</u> If you are unable to use the envelope, please address your remittance as follows:

Florida Public Service Commission

2540 Shumard Oak Boulevard

Tallahassee, FL 32399-0850

ATTENTION: Fiscal Services

7. ADDITIONAL ASSISTANCE: If you need additional assistance in preparing your Regulatory Assessment Fee Return or regarding telecommunications facilities, please contact the Division of Competitive Markets and Enforcement at (850) 413-6600. This division may be contacted at the above-referenced address, directing correspondence to the attention of the division.

