
BEFORE THE FLORIDA PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION 

In re: Compliance investigation of PATS 
Certificate No. 1788, issued to Sunshine Shell, 
for apparent second-time violation of Rule 25- 
4.0161, F.A.C., Regulatory Assessment Fees; 
Telecommunications Companies. 

In re: Compliance investigation of PATS 
Certificate No. 5002, issued to Penn Boys 
Legend Telecom, Inc., for apparent second- 
time violation of Rule 25-4.0161, F.A.C., 
Regulatory Assessment Fees; 
Telecommunications Companies. 

In re: Compliance investigation of PATS 
Certificate No. 7388, issued to LoneStar 
Telcom, Inc., for apparent second-time 
violation of Rule 25-4.0161, F.A.C., 
Regulatory Assessment . Fees; 
Telecommunications Companies. 

DOCKET NO. 080324-TC 

DOCKET NO. 080328-TC 

DOCKET NO. 080332-TC 
ORDER NO. PSC-08-0510-PAA-TC 
ISSUED: August 11,2008 

NOTICE OF PROPOSED AGENCY ACTION ORDER IMPOSING PENALTIES AND 
COLLECTION COSTS, AND REOUIRING PAYMENT OF DELINQUENT REGULATORY 
ASSESSMENT FEES. OR CANCELLING PAY TELEPHONE SERVICE CERTIFICATES 

FOR VIOLATION OF RULE 25-4.0161. FLORIDA ADMINISTRATIVE CODE 

BY THE COMMISSION: 

NOTICE is hereby given by the Florida Public Service Commission that the action 
discussed herein is preliminary in nature and will become final unless a person whose interests 
are substantially affected files a petition for a formal proceeding, pursuant to Rule 25-22.029, 
Florida Administrative Code. 

Pursuant to Rule 25-4.0161(10), Florida Administrative Code, telecommunications 
companies that fail to pay the Regulatory Assessment Fee, including statutory late payment 
charges, within 15 days after receiving a delinquent notice, shall be automatically penalized $500 
for a first offense, $1,000 for a second offense, and $2,000 for a third offense. The penalty 
amounts include collection costs. If an entity fails to pay the Regulatory Assessment Fee in full, 
including any statutory late payment charges, along with the penalty amount, that entity’s 
certificate shall be cancelled. 

Pursuant to Section 364.336, Florida Statutes, certificate holders must pay a minimum 
annual Regulatory Assessment Fee if the certificate was active during any portion of the calendar 
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ENTITY’S NAME 
Sunshine Shell 

Penn Boys Legend Telecom, Inc. 

LoneStar Telcom, Inc. 

year. Pursuant to Rule 25-4.0161(2), Florida Administrative Code, the form and applicable fees 
are due to the Florida Public Service Commission by January 30 of the subsequent year. 
Pursuant to Section 350.1 13(4), Florida Statutes, the Regulatory Assessment Fee return forms, 
for the period of January 1 through December 31, are mailed to entities at least 45 days prior to 
the date that payment of the fee is due. 

The Division of Administrative Services advised our staff that the entities listed below 
failed to comply with Section 364.336, Florida Statutes, and Rule 25-4.0161, Florida 
Administrative Code. In addition, each entity listed below has had a prior docket for the same 
rule violation in which each entity proposed a settlement or paid the penalty imposed to resolve 
its respective docket. 

CO. CODE DOCKET NO. 
TD645 080324-TC 

TF900 080328-TC 

TG683 080332-TC 

Accordingly, we hereby find it appropriate to cancel each entity’s pay telephone 
company (PATS) certificate for failure to comply with Section 364.336, Florida Statutes, and 
Rule 25-4.0161, Florida Administrative Code, unless each entity pays a penalty and cost of 
collection, together totaling $1,000, and remits the past due Regulatory Assessment Fees, along 
with any accrued statutory late payment charges, to the Florida Public Service Commission. 

If this Order is not protested, each entity’s respective PATS Certificate shall be cancelled. 
If an entity pays the penalty and cost of collection, together totaling $1,000, and remits the past 
due Regulatory Assessment Fees, along with any accrued statutory late payment charges, prior to 
the expiration of the Proposed Agency Action Order, then that entity’s respective PATS 
certificate will remain active. If an entity fails to protest the Order or pay the penalty and cost of 
collection, together totaling $1,000, and fails to remit the past due Regulatory Assessment Fees, 
along with any accrued statutory late payment charges, prior to the expiration of the Proposed 
Agency Action Order, then that entity’s PATS certificate should be cancelled administratively, 
and the collection of the past due Regulatory Assessment Fees should be referred to the Florida 
Department of Financial Services for further collection efforts. If an entity’s PATS certificate is 
cancelled in accordance with this Commission’s Order, that company should be required to 
immediately cease and desist providing pay telephone service in Florida. This docket should be 
closed administratively either upon receipt of the payment of the penalty and cost of collection, 
together totaling $1,000, and the past due Regulatory Assessment Fees, along with any accrued 
statutory late payment charges from each entity, or upon cancellation of that entity’s PATS 
certificate. If an entity’s PATS certificate is cancelled in accordance with this Order and it 
subsequently decides to reapply for a certificate as a telecommunications company, that entity 
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shall be required to first pay the penalty and cost of collection, together totaling $1,000 and any 
outstanding fees, including accrued statutory late payment charges. We are vested with 
jurisdiction over these matters pursuant to Sections 350.1 13, 364.336, 364.3375, and 364.285, 
Florida Statutes. 

Based on the foregoing, it is 

ORDERED by the Florida Public Service Commission that each of the entities listed 
herein shall pay a penalty and cost of collection, together totaling $1,000, and any past due 
Regulatory Assessment Fees, including statutory late payment charges, to the Florida Public 
Service Commission for failure to comply with Section 364.336, Florida Statutes, and Rule 25- 
4.0161, Florida Administrative Code, by the end of the protest period. The cost of collection will 
be subtracted from any monies collected as payments (full or partial) of the penalty and cost of 
collection, and will be deposited, along with the past due Regulatory Assessment Fees, in the 
Florida Public Service Regulatory Trust Fund, pursuant to Section 350.113, Florida Statutes. 
The statutory late payment charges and any portion of the penalty exceeding the cost of 
collection will be remitted to the Florida Department of Financial Services for deposit in the 
State of Florida General Revenue Fund, pursuant to Section 364.285(1), Florida Statutes. It is 
further 

ORDERED that should any of the entities fail to comply with this Order, that entity’s 
respective certificate shall be cancelled. It is further 

ORDERED that the cancellation of the certificate in no way diminishes any of the 
entities’ obligation to pay applicable delinquent Regulatory Assessment Fees, and any accrued 
statutory late payment charges. If any company listed in this Order has its respective certificate 
cancelled, and subsequently decides to reapply for certification as a telecommunications 
company, that company shall be required to first pay any outstanding penalties and cost of 
collection and fees, including accrued statutory late payment charges. Any unpaid Regulatory 
Assessment Fees, and accrued statutory late payment charges, shall be referred to the Florida 
Department of Financial Services for further collection efforts. It is further 

ORDERED that if an entity’s certificate is cancelled in accordance with this Order, that 
entity shall immediately cease and desist providing pay telephone service in Florida. It is further 

ORDERED that any protest to the action proposed herein shall specify the entity or 
entities to which it applies. It is further 

ORDERED that if a protest to this Order is filed, the protest shall not prevent the action 
proposed herein from becoming final with regard to the remaining entities listed in this Order. It 
is further 

ORDERED that the provisions of this Order, issued as proposed agency action, shall 
become final and effective upon the issuance of a Consummating Order unless an appropriate 
petition, in the form provided by Rule 28-106.201, Florida Administrative Code, is received by 
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the Office of Commission Clerk, 2540 Shumard Oak Boulevard, Tallahassee, Florida 32399- 
0850, by the close of business on the date set forth in the "Notice of Further Proceedings" 
attached hereto. It is further 

ORDERED that in the event this Order becomes final, this docket shall be closed upon 
receipt of the imposed penalty and cost of collection, together totaling $1,000, and Regulatory 
Assessment Fees, including any statutory late payment charges, from each entity or upon 
cancellation of that entity's PATS certificate. 

By ORDER of the Florida Public Service Commission this day of August. 2008. 

Commission Clerk 

( S E A L )  

TJB 

NOTICE OF FURTHER PROCEEDINGS OR JUDICIAL REVIEW 

The Florida Public Service Commission is required by Section 120.569(1), Florida 
Statutes, to notify parties of any administrative hearing that is available under Section 120.57, 
Florida Statutes, as well as the procedures and time limits that apply. This notice should not be 
construed to mean all requests for an administrative hearing will be granted or result in the relief 
sought. 

Mediation may be available on a case-by-case basis. If mediation is conducted, it does 
not affect a substantially interested person's right to a hearing. 

The action proposed herein is preliminary in nature. Any person whose substantial 
interests are affected by the action proposed by this order may file a petition for a formal 
proceeding, in the form provided by Rule 28-106.201, Florida Administrative Code. This 
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petition must be received by the Office of Commission Clerk, 2540 Shumard Oak Boulevard, 
Tallahassee, Florida 32399-0850, by the close of business on Seutember 1,2008. 

In the absence of such a petition, this order shall become final and effective upon the 
issuance of a Consummating Order. 

Any objection or protest filed in thidthese docket(s) before the issuance date of this order 
is considered abandoned unless it satisfies the foregoing conditions and is renewed within the 
specified protest period. 


