FILED 12/14/2017 DOCUMENT NO. 10600-2017 FPSC - COMMISSION CLERK



Public Service Commission

CAPITAL CIRCLE OFFICE CENTER • 2540 SHUMARD OAK BOULEVARD TALLAHASSEE, FLORIDA 32399-0850

-M-E-M-O-R-A-N-D-U-M-

DATE:	December 14, 2017
TO:	All Water and Wastewater Utilities, Office of Public Counsel, Interested Persons
FROM:	Kathryn G.W. Cowdery, Senior Attorney, Office of the General Counsel
RE:	Docket No. 20170222-WS - Proposed Amendment of Rules 25-30.130, Record of Complaints, and 25-30.355, Complaints, F.A.C.

Staff has revised draft Rule 25-30.355, Florida Administrative Code (F.A.C.), Complaints, as part of the above-named docket. We are inviting comments on this revised draft rule, a copy of which is attached. The revised draft amended language is as follows:

(2) A utility shall acknowledge receipt of a complaint no later than three days after receipt of the complaint.

(3) A utility shall investigate a complaint and give the customer a verbal or written response no later than 15 days after receipt of the complaint.

Staff's Second Data Request

Additionally, as part of this rulemaking, staff will prepare a statement of estimated regulatory costs consistent with sections 120.54(3)(b) and 120.541(2), Florida Statutes. As part of your comments, we would appreciate your answers to the following questions:

- Revised draft Rule 25-30.355(2), F.A.C., requires your utility to acknowledge the receipt of a complaint (as defined in Rule 25-30.355(1), F.A.C.) no later than three days after the utility's receipt of the complaint.
 - (a) Do you anticipate that a requirement to acknowledge the receipt of a complaint no later than three days after your utility's receipt of the complaint will result in your company making business process changes to manage the acknowledgement time frame?
 - (b) If the answer to (a) is yes, please provide a cost estimate per year for the next five years and show how the estimates were derived.
- Revised draft Rule 25-30.355(3), F.A.C., requires your utility to investigate the complaint and give the customer a verbal or written response within 15 days of the utility's receipt of the complaint.

- (a) Do you anticipate that the requirement to investigate a complaint and give the customer a verbal or written response within 15 days of your utility's receipt of the complaint will result in your company making business process changes to manage the complaint response time frame?
- (b) If the answer to (a) is yes, please provide a cost estimate per year for the next five years and show how the estimates were derived.

Please file your comments with the Office of Commission Clerk, referencing Docket No. 20170222-WS, no later than January 5, 2018. You may file electronically at <u>https://secure.floridapsc.com/ClerkOffice/EfilingPublic</u> or by mail to the Florida Public Service Commission, Office of Commission Clerk, 2540 Shumard Oak Boulevard, Tallahassee, FL 32399-0850.

If you have any questions, please contact Kathryn G.W. Cowdery, Office of General Counsel, 2540 Shumard Oak Boulevard, Tallahassee, FL 32399-0850 at (850)413-6216 or kcowdery@psc.state.fl.us.

KC Attachment Cc: Office of Commission Clerk

1	25-30.355 Complaints.
1	25-50.555 Complaints.

2	(1) A utility shall make a full and prompt acknowledgement and investigation of all
3	customer complaints and shall respond fully and promptly to all customer requests.
4	(1)(2) For the purpose of this rule <u>T</u> the word "complaint" as used in this rule means shall
5	mean an objection made to the utility by a the customer by telephone call, e-mail, letter, or the
6	utility's website form as to the utility's charges, facilities, or service, that where the disposal
7	of the complaint requires action by on the part of the utility.
8	(2) A utility shall acknowledge receipt of a complaint no later than three days after receipt
9	of the complaint.
10	(3) A utility shall investigate a complaint and give the customer a verbal or written
11	response no later than 15 days after receipt of the complaint.
12	(4)(3) Replies to inquiries by the Commission's staff shall be furnished within fifteen (15)
13	days from the date of the inquiry and shall be in writing, if requested. Each utility shall have a
14	procedure for receiving and promptly responding to emergency calls 24 hours a day. Reports
15	of water or wastewater main breaks or conditions caused by utility-owned facilities where
16	property damage or personal injury is reasonably foreseeable shall be considered an
17	emergency.
18	Rulemaking Authority 350.127(2), <u>367.0812(5)</u> , 367.121(1) FS. Law Implemented
19	<u>367.0812(1), 367.111,</u> 367.121 <u>(1)</u> FS. History–New 9-12-74, Formerly 25-10.70, 25-10.070,
20	Amended 11-10-86,
21	
22	
23	
24	
25	
	CODING: Words underlined are additions: words in struck through type are deletions

CODING: Words <u>underlined</u> are additions; words in struck through type are deletions from existing law.