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PUBLIC SERVICE COMMlSS ION 
RULE NO.: RULE TITLE: 

25-4.5 I I: Application for Certificate 

25-4.51 2: Application for Approval of Sale or Transfer of Certificate g 
PURPOSE AND EFFECT: To update and clarify the application form and process for obtaining a certificate to 

provide pay telephone service or the transfer of the certificate. 

Docket No. 20 170263-TP 

SUMMARY: Rule 25-4.5 11. F.A.C., sets forth the requirements and the process to apply for a certificate to provide 

pay telephone service. The amendments streamline Rule 25-4.511 , F.A.C., so that applicants are clearly on notice of 

the procedures and requirements to provide pay telephone service or the transfer of such certificate. The application 

form is hyperlinked to the Department of State and is incorporated by reference to the Commission website. Rule 

25-4.5 12, F.A.C. , would be repealed and its provisions included in Rule 25-4.511, F.A.C. Repeal of Rule 25-4.512, 

F.A.C., allows one rule to address both the applications for and the transfer of a pay telephone certificate. 

SUMMARY OF STATEMENT OF ESTIMATED REGULATORY COSTS AND LEGISLATIVE 

RATIFICATION: 

The Agency has detem1ined that this will not have an adverse impact on small business or likely increase directly or 

indirectly regulatory costs in excess of$200,000 in the aggregate within one year after the implementation of the 

rule. A SERC has been prepared by the Agency. 

The SERC examined the factors required by Section 120.541(2), F.S., and concluded that the rule amendment and 

repeal will not have an adverse impact on economic growth, business competitiveness. or small business and that 

there may be transactional cost savings to the individual and entities, including government entities, required to 

comply with the rule 

The Agency has detem1ined that the proposed rule is not expected to require legislative ratification based on the 

statement of estimated regulatory costs or if no SERC is required, the infomtation expressly relied upon and 

described herein: based upon the infom1ation contained in the SERC. 

Any person who wishes to provide information regarding a statement of estimated regulatory costs, or provide a 

proposal for a lower cost regulatory altemative must do so in writing within 21 days of this notice. 

RULEMAKING AUTHORITY: 350.127(2) FS 

LAW IMPLEMENTED: 364.32. 364.33.364.335.364.3375. FS 

IF REQUESTED WITHIN 21 DAYS OF THE DATE OF THIS NOTICE, A HEARING WILL BE SCHEDULED 

AND ANNOUNCED TN THE FAR. 

THE PERSON TO BE CONTACTED REGARDING THE PROPOSED RULE IS: Pamela H. Page. Office of 

General Counsel. 2540 Shumard Oak Blvd., Tallahassee, FL 32399-0850, (850) 4 I 3-6214, phpage@psc,state.fl.us. 

THE FULL TEXT OF THE PROPOSED RULE IS: 

25-4.511 Application for Original or Transfer of Pav Telephone Certificate. 
(1) In order :Any person desiring to provide pay telephone service services, must have a pay telephoae service 

certificate or transfer of certificate must be granted by the Florida Public Service Commission. 

(2) Each Aii applicant shaU apply by using submit aH application oa Form PSC I 02 I (I I 18) PSGn:EL 32 (2/ 13), 

entitled "Application Fefm for Original Authority or Transfer of Authority to Provide Pay Telephone Service In 

Wtt-hta lhe State of Florida/ The application whiG-A is incorporated into this rule by reference and may be obtained 



from the Commission's website at http:/ www.floridapsc.com'telecommumcation TelecomPATSApplication 

WYAY-:-f!SfiEiap:.c.coni ~:~tilitiet. 1 telecomtR or from the Office of Industry Development and Market Analysis 

Telecemmtmieations. Such form may also be accessed at the Department of State website at: [Dept. of State 

Hyperlink] J~··www.flrule: •. erg Gateway reference.a:.p?No Ref 02213. A non-refundable application or tran fer 

fee of $250.00 must accompany the filing of each application to cover processing costs. The Commission ·s 

acceptance of the application fee does not imply that the application or transfer of a certificate will be granted a-11 

apJ3Iicatiens. 

(3) Certificates authorizing pay telephone service shall not be transferred by the holder without prior 

Commission approval. 

(i)~ An original ana one copy ofDhe application shall be filed with the Office of Commission Clerk. 

(4) Any 13ay telephone seF¥ice authority pre'>'iously granted or gramed hereafter is subject to tbe following: 

(a)-AI:Ithority granted is statewide. 

ill~ Authority iti to provide both local and iAtrastate toll j')ay telOj'>hone ser.·iee. A certificate to provide pay 

telephone service does not carry with it the authority to provide local exchange or intere*change service. A separate 

application must be made for~ authority to provide l11is service. 

Rulemaking Awlloriry 350.127(2) FS. Law lmplemenred JMd.J, 364.33, 364.335, 364.3375 FS. History-New 1-5-

87, Amended9-28-89. 4-7-91,11-20-91,12-21-92,2-1-99, 1-5-06,5-29-08,2-7-13. Former~r25-24.5/l, 

25-4.5 12 Application for Approval of Sale or Transfer of Certificate. 

( I) Certificates of authority or necessity authorizing pay tele13hene ser.•ice shall not be solEI. assigHed or 

tr:ansferred by the llolder •.vithot:~t j')rior Commission approval. 

(2) A peR;en seeking to obtain a certificate from a sale or tr:ansfer fronl the he lEier shall st:~bmit aB application 

jointly witl:l the certificate holder en Commission ~orm PSCn=eb 32 (2113), entitled '' A~~Iication ~orm for 

At:Jthority to Provide Pay Tele~hone Service Within the State of Florida.'' Tl:le apJ3Iieatien forn1 lllay be obtained 

from IRe Commission's weesite at W'>VW.floridapsc.com!utilitie:.tteleeernm' or [FOAl tile Office of 

Telecommunications. Sueh forn1 may also be accessed attl:le De13artn1ent of State website at: 

ht~://www.llrules;QFg!Gateway/reference.asp?No Ref 02214. A ~nrefundable 8J3plieation fee of$250.00 must 

~~ny-t.A~Rg of all apJ3Iications to co•;er precessing costs. The Commission 's a~nce oft-he application 

~ly that the applicatioA for sale or transfer of a eertificate-wtll be granted. 

(3) An original and one copy ohhe application shall be filed with tile Offiee of Commission Clerk 

(4) An application for sale or transfer of a certificate will ee granted if the Con'lmissioa determines that StiCh 

approval is in the public interest 

(5) A certificate may be sold or transferred only as a whole. 

Rulemaking Authority 350.127(2) FS. Law Implemented 364.32, 364.33. 3~4.337. 364.3375. 3~4.345 FS. HistOIJ'-

New 1-5-87. Amended 5-15-89, 1-5-06, 5-29-08, 2-7-13. Fonner~1· 25-24.512. :..:R""'ep""'e""a""le:.=d.__ ____ . 

NAME OF PERSON ORIGINATING PROPOSED RULE: Greg Fogleman 

NAME OF AGENCY HEAD WHO APPROVED THE PROPOSED RU LE: Florida Public Service Commission 

DATE PROPOSED RULE APPROVED BY AGENCY HEAD: 

DATE NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE DEVELOPMENT PUBLISIIED IN FAR: Volume 43. Number 196, 

October I 0, 20 17. 
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