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BEFORE THE FLORIDA PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION


	[bookmark: SSInRe]In re: Proposed amendment of Rule 25-30.335, F.A.C., Customer Billing.
	[bookmark: SSDocketNo]DOCKET NO. 20200119-WS
[bookmark: OrderNo0121]ORDER NO. PSC-2021-0121-FOF-WS
ISSUED: April 2, 2021




[bookmark: Commissioners]The following Commissioners participated in the disposition of this matter:

GARY F. CLARK, Chairman
ART GRAHAM
ANDREW GILES FAY
MIKE LA ROSA


[bookmark: OrderTitle] NOTICE OF ADOPTION OF RULE 

BY THE COMMISSION:

[bookmark: OrderText]NOTICE is hereby given that the Florida Public Service Commission, pursuant to Section 120.54, Florida Statutes, has adopted without changes Rule 25-30.335, Florida Administrative Code.

	The rule was filed with the Department of State on April 2, 2021 and will be effective on April 22, 2021. A copy of the rule as filed with the Department is attached to this Notice.

	This docket is closed upon issuance of this Notice.






[bookmark: replaceDate]	By ORDER of the Florida Public Service Commission this 2nd day of April, 2021.


	[bookmark: bkmrkSignature]
	[bookmark: _GoBack]/s/ Adam J. Teitzman

	
	ADAM J. TEITZMAN
Commission Clerk


Florida Public Service Commission
2540 Shumard Oak Boulevard
Tallahassee, Florida 32399
(850) 413‑6770
www.floridapsc.com

Copies furnished:  A copy of this document is provided to the parties of record at the time of issuance and, if applicable, interested persons.
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	25-30.335 Customer Billing.
	(1) Except as provided in this rule, a utility must shall render bills to customers at regular intervals, and each bill must shall indicate: the billing period covered; the applicable rate schedule; beginning and ending meter reading; the amount of the bill; the delinquent date or the date after which the bill becomes past due; and any authorized late payment charge.
	(2) When a utility is unable to obtain an actual meter read, estimated bills may be provided.
	(a) If the utility estimates a bill, the bill statement shall prominently show the word “Estimated” must be prominently displayed on the face of the bill. 
	(b) The utility is obligated to timely correct any problems within the utility’s control causing the need to estimate bills. In no event may shall a utility provide an estimated bill to any one customer account more than four times in any 12-month period due to circumstances that are within the utility’s control and service obligations.
	(c) Upon issuance of a second estimated bill in a 6-month period, the utility must shall provide the customer with an explicit written explanation for the estimation, along with the utility contact information and the Commission toll-free complaint number, 1(800) 342-3552.
	(d) The utility must shall maintain records, for a minimum of two years, detailing the number, frequency, and causes of estimated bills, and those records must which shall be made available upon request to the Commission or to any party to a rate proceeding for the utility.
	(3) When service is rendered for less than 50 percent of the normal billing cycle, the utility must shall prorate the base facility charges, flat rates, or rates that include minimum usage as though the normal billing cycle were 30 days., except that Tthe utility may elect not to not issue an initial bill for service if the service is rendered for during a time period which is less than 50 percent of the normal billing cycle. Instead, the utility may elect to issue a single bill combining combine the amount owed for the service rendered during the initial time period with the amount owed for the next billing cycle, and issue a single bill for the combined time period. For service taken under flat rate schedules, 50 percent of the normal charges may be applied.
	(4) If a customer requests a temporary discontinuance of service or is out of residence:
	(a) Utilities that have the base facility charge rate structure must continue to bill the base facility charge.
	(b) Utilities that have a flat rate or a rate that includes minimum usage must bill the customer 40 percent of the flat or minimum rate contained on the applicable tariff.
	(5) If a customer requests a permanent termination of service and the same customer subsequently requests service at the same location within 12 months of that termination, the utility must bill the customer the base facility charges or 40 percent of the flat rate or rates that include minimum usage for the service termination period. The customer is responsible for payment of all outstanding rates and charges for the termination period in order for service to be restored.
	(6)(4) A utility may not consider a customer delinquent in paying his or her bill until the 21st day after the utility has mailed or presented the bill for payment.
	(7)(5) A Each utility must shall establish each point of delivery as an independent customer account and must shall calculate the amount of the bill accordingly, except where physical conditions make it necessary to use additional meters or points of delivery for one class of service to a single customer on the same premises, or where such multiple meters or delivery points are used for the convenience of the utility.
	(8)(6) A utility may not incorporate municipal or county franchise fees into the amount indicated as the cost for service on the customer’s bill. Rather, the utility must shall show any such franchise fee as a separate item.
	(9)(7) The utility must shall maintain a record of each customer’s account for the most current 2 years so as to permit reproduction of the customer’s bills during the time that the utility provided service to that customer.
	(8) If a utility utilizes the base facility and usage charge rate structure and does not have a Commission authorized vacation rate, the utility shall bill the customer the base facility charge regardless of whether there is any usage.
Rulemaking Authority 350.127(2), 367.121 FS. Law Implemented 367.091, 367.121 FS. History–New 9-14-74, Amended 6-21-79, Formerly 25-10.97, 25-10.097, Amended 11-10-86, 11-30-93, 6-17-13, ____________.



