CORRESPONDENCE

6/23/2022
Antonia Hover DOCUMENT NO. 04209-2022
From: Ellen Plendl
Sent: Thursday, June 23, 2022 3:38 PM
To: Consumer Correspondence
Subject: Docket No. 20210015
Attachments: FW PROTEST AGAINST FPL MINIMUM BASE BILL; FW PSC, FPL bills; Consumer Inquiry -

Florida Power & Light Company; Consumer Inquiry - Florida Power & Light Company

See attached customer correspondence and replies for Docket No. 20210015.



Antonia Hover

From: Governor's Office of Citizen Services <EOGCitizenServices@eog.myflorida.com>
Sent: Thursday, June 23, 2022 2:14 PM

To: EOG-Referral

Subject: FW: PROTEST AGAINST FPL MINIMUM BASE BILL

Please find attached email received by the Governor's Office of Citizen Services. This email is forwarded to your office
for review and any response or action appropriate. FYI

Thank you.
Sincerely,

Martha Lynn
Office of Citizen Services
Executive Office of the Governor

From: Yanko Estrada <yankoestrada@hotmail.com>

Sent: Thursday, June 23, 2022 11:53 AM

To: contact@psc.state.fl.us; GovernorRon.DeSantis@eog.myflorida.com; Commissioner.LaRosa@psc.state.fl.us;
Commissioner.Graham@psc.state.fl.us; Commissioner.Fay@psc.state.fl.us; Commissioner.Clark@psc.state.fl.us;
Commissioner.Passidomo@psc.state.fl.us

Subject: PROTEST AGAINST FPL MINIMUM BASE BILL

Hello PSC and commissioners:

| power my house with solar panels and | recently noticed that there is a new charge of $25 that was approved by the FL PSC
commissioners. | want to protest against it.

First, because that bill is abusive, it is punishing solar costumers for been green and saving energy.
Solar systems cost a lot of money and there is no real return until after 8-10 years, we do it to help the planet, to educate our kids on
protecting earth and saving the planet one action at a time so there is no financial gain on being solar.

Second, those $25 minimum base bill are not for every customer so it is discriminatory. If it is because they cannot afford solar
systems, there are many loans for solar systems. This additional bill is unfair and shows a prejudicial distinction between solar and
non-solar customers.

Third, it is hypocrite that the state of FL (and the whole world) is calling for natural resource conservation and PSC is passing a bill
that is taking a step back on that. It is contradicting the sustainable initiatives program the state is promoting.

| PROTEST AGAINST THE FPL MINIMUM BASE BILL!
Yanko Estrada

10821 NE 10th Ave

Biscayne Park, FL 33161

FPL ID-08430-25511

Please note that under Florida law correspondence sent to the Governor's Office, which is not confidential or
exempt pursuant to chapter 119 of the Florida Statutes, is a public record made available upon request.
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Antonia Hover

From: Governor's Office of Citizen Services <EOGCitizenServices@eog.myflorida.com>
Sent: Thursday, June 23, 2022 2:17 PM

To: EOG-Referral

Subject: FW: PSC, FPL bills

Please find attached email received by the Governor's Office of Citizen Services. This email is forwarded to your office
for review and any response or action appropriate.

Thank you.
Sincerely,

Martha Lynn
Office of Citizen Services
Executive Office of the Governor

From: Barb Drndak <barb@drndak.com>

Sent: Thursday, June 23, 2022 11:22 AM

To: GovernorRon.DeSantis@eog.myflorida.com
Subject: PSC, FPL bills

Dear Governor DeSantis -

| recently wrote to you regarding the step-down demise of net metering for solar electric customers, and was grateful
that you vetoed it. But | just received my electric bill from FPL, and they are making up the difference by charging me a
“base” electric rate of $25 for NOT using electricity! WHAT?! | gave them back 90 Kwh this month - which they get to
sell - and yet the PSC is letting them charge me for NOT using their electricity. How is that good governance? | am not a
worshiper of the “green” movement, even though my husband has been in the solar business since 1979. We are
practical people - but this is an affront to my ability to be self-sufficient. With my non-standard meter, plus the new
base electric fee, we now pay over $41/month for NOTHING! | don’t mind supporting the grid - but to be producing
“free” electricity for FPL to sell to my neighbor is immoral. Please put a stop to the end run around your decision to
keep net metering. And get the PSC in check. They are a rogue group of unaccountable, unelected bureaucrats that are
dictating harmful (and expensive) policies to the public - and they have no understanding of solar electric production in
relationship to the electric grid.

Thank you!

Sincerely,

Barbara Drndak

Vero Beach

Please note that under Florida law correspondence sent to the Governor's Office, which is not confidential or exempt
pursuant to chapter 119 of the Florida Statutes, is a public record made available upon request.



Antonia Hover

From: Shonna McCray

Sent: Thursday, June 23, 2022 2:43 PM

To: '‘barb@drndak.com’

Cc: Ellen Plendl

Subject: Consumer Inquiry - Florida Power & Light Company

Ms. Barbara Drndak
barb@drndak.com

RE: FPSC Inquiry 1398389C
Dear Ms. Drndak:

The Governor's office forwarded a copy of your email regarding Florida Power & Light Company's (FPL) minimum bill
charge to the Florida Public Service Commission (FPSC). The FPSC regulates investor-owned electric, and natural gas
utilities throughout the state, and investor-owned water and wastewater utilities in those counties which have opted to
transfer jurisdiction to the FPSC. The FPSC has authority in the telephone industry which is limited to the Lifeline
Assistance Program, Florida Relay Service, and pay telephone service. We appreciate the opportunity to respond directly
to you.

The Florida Public Service Commission approved Florida Power & Light Company’s general base rate settlement
agreement in Order No. PSC-2021-0446-S-El, issued on December 2, 2021, in Docket No. 20210015-El. The settlement
agreement was entered into by FPL and various parties representing consumers, including the Office of the Public
Counsel (OPC) who advocates on behalf of Florida consumers. The settlement agreement includes numerous provisions
with regards to FPL’s base rates through the end of 2025.

The agreement also contains a provision that will raise the minimum bill charge to $25 for all residential and general
service non-demand customers. The minimum bill provision went into effect in June 2022. FPL was to notify its
customers of the new minimum bill in bill inserts 30 days prior to implementation.

The minimum monthly bill does not replace the existing customer charge; instead, FPL will only charge the minimum bill
when a customer’s total monthly bill does not exceed $25, excluding any taxes or other additional charges.

FPL explained that the minimum bill provision was included in the settlement agreement to ensure that all residential
and general service non-demand customers contribute towards fixed costs of maintaining the electric system, costs
which exist as a result of serving even limited amounts of energy to customers. The Commission approved the
settlement agreement as being in the public interest when taken as a whole, and providing a comprehensive and
balanced resolution to FPL’s original petition for a base rate increase that provides rate stability for FPL’s customers.

We have added your concerns to our files as a protest to the FPL's Rate Case, docket 20210015.

If you have any questions, please contact Ms. Ellen Plendl at 1-800-342-3552 or by fax at 1-800-511-0809.
Sincerely,

Shonna McCray

Regulatory Program Administrator
Florida Public Service Commission



Antonia Hover

From: Shonna McCray

Sent: Thursday, June 23, 2022 2:46 PM

To: 'yankoestrada@hotmail.com’

Cc: Ellen Plendl

Subject: Consumer Inquiry - Florida Power & Light Company

Mr. Yanko Estrada
yankoestrada@hotmail.com

RE: FPSC Inquiry 1398390C
Dear Mr. Estrada:

The Governor's office forwarded a copy of your email regarding Florida Power & Light Company's (FPL) minimum bill
charge to the Florida Public Service Commission (FPSC). The FPSC regulates investor-owned electric, and natural gas
utilities throughout the state, and investor-owned water and wastewater utilities in those counties which have opted to
transfer jurisdiction to the FPSC. The FPSC has authority in the telephone industry which is limited to the Lifeline
Assistance Program, Florida Relay Service, and pay telephone service. We appreciate the opportunity to respond directly
to you.

The Florida Public Service Commission approved Florida Power & Light Company’s general base rate settlement
agreement in Order No. PSC-2021-0446-S-El, issued on December 2, 2021, in Docket No. 20210015-El. The settlement
agreement was entered into by FPL and various parties representing consumers, including the Office of the Public
Counsel (OPC) who advocates on behalf of Florida consumers. The settlement agreement includes numerous provisions
with regards to FPL’s base rates through the end of 2025.

The agreement also contains a provision that will raise the minimum bill charge to $25 for all residential and general
service non-demand customers. The minimum bill provision went into effect in June 2022. FPL was to notify its
customers of the new minimum bill in bill inserts 30 days prior to implementation.

The minimum monthly bill does not replace the existing customer charge; instead, FPL will only charge the minimum bill
when a customer’s total monthly bill does not exceed $25, excluding any taxes or other additional charges.

FPL explained that the minimum bill provision was included in the settlement agreement to ensure that all residential
and general service non-demand customers contribute towards fixed costs of maintaining the electric system, costs
which exist as a result of serving even limited amounts of energy to customers. The Commission approved the
settlement agreement as being in the public interest when taken as a whole, and providing a comprehensive and
balanced resolution to FPL’s original petition for a base rate increase that provides rate stability for FPL’s customers.

We have added your concerns to our files as a protest to the FPL's Rate Case, docket 20210015.

If you have any questions, please contact Ms. Ellen Plendl at 1-800-342-3552 or by fax at 1-800-511-0809.
Sincerely,

Shonna McCray

Regulatory Program Administrator
Florida Public Service Commission





